Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat

The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS), which is housed within the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the program. It reports to the Management Committee, which itself reports to the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee reports to the minister of Science.

Management Committee

The Management Committee is responsible for providing comments and advice concerning the management of the peer review process, communications strategies, as well as the program's structure, policy development and budget management.

It is composed of the executive director of TIPS; the vice-president, Research Partnerships Directorate of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC); the vice-president, Research Portfolio of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR); the vice-president, Research Directorate of SSHRC; the vice-president of the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI); the director, Research Policy and Outreach Division at Health Canada; and the director general, Innovation Policy at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

The Management Committee reports to the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee

In addition to playing an important role in the peer review process, the Steering Committee is mandated to oversee the management of the program and to provide strategic advice on the program's general direction.

The members of the Steering Committee are:

Ted Hewitt (Chair)
President, SSHRC

Mario Pinto
President, NSERC

Roderick McInnes
Acting President, CIHR

Roseann O’Reilly Runte
President and CEO, Canada Foundation for Innovation

John Knubley
Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Simon Kennedy
Deputy Minister, Health Canada

Interdisciplinary Adjudication Committee

The Interdisciplinary Adjudication Committee (IAC) provides advice on program policy and ensures that standards are applied consistently throughout the program. IAC reviews all nominations that include a justification for a Tier 2 Chair as well as those that have received one or more unfavourable assessments.

IAC members are chosen from among the members of the College of Reviewers.

College of Reviewers

Members of the College of Reviewers assess each Chair nomination and recommend whether to fund the position.

Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Policy

The Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Policy is mandated to advise the governance committees and TIPS on implementing measures to achieve the goals of increased equity, diversity and inclusion in all programs administered by TIPS. Achieving these goals within the programs and the broader Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating excellent, innovative and impactful research. As such, this supports the three federal research funding agencies’ commitment to excellence in research and research training.

The committee’s membership includes diverse stakeholders with a wide mix of backgrounds and competencies. When performing their duties, committee members consider current research, best practices and the various contextual factors in which the programs operate.