Harper Government investing in research excellence at Canadian universities, creating jobs and economic growth


Canadian universities attract the brightest and best researchers with federal funding

OTTAWA, Ontario, March 13, 2012 | Researchers at universities across Canada will continue to make advances in disease prevention and treatment, informational technology, sustainable development, and business and management practices, among many other areas, thanks to a federal investment in the Canada Research Chairs Program. The funding announcement was made today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for Science and Technology, while speaking at the University of Ottawa.

“Our Government is committed to investing in research programs that continue to have a positive effect on Canada’s economy and that touch the lives of Canadians,” said Minister Goodyear. “We are focused on what matters—creating jobs and economic growth. By supporting innovation, we are not only encouraging cutting-edge research but also help bring promising ideas to the marketplace to keep our economy strong in the future.”

In total, $124.5 million is being allocated among 132 newly awarded or renewed Canada Research Chairs to undertake new, cutting-edge research at 36 Canadian postsecondary institutions. This federal investment allows Canadian institutions to strengthen their position as global leaders in research and development, bringing greater economic opportunities for Canadians.

Today’s event at the University of Ottawa featured Dr. Julian Little, who is developing epidemiological methods to investigate the roles genes play in a number of diseases and to measure their response to therapy or preventative interventions. As Canada Research Chair in Human Genome Epidemiology, Dr. Little is helping to develop the techniques that will be needed to translate genetic discoveries into opportunities for preventive medicine and public health benefits.

“The Canada Research Chairs Program helps to position Canadian postsecondary institutions as world-class research centres,” said Dr. Chad Gaffield, president of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council and chair of the Canada Research Chairs Program Steering Committee, who attended today’s announcement. “With this funding support, researchers are gaining insight about, and developing innovative solutions to, today’s social, health and economic issues, and are training the next generation of top scientists and scholars.”

The investment announced today also includes an additional $6.3 million from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) for research infrastructure associated with the new Chair awards.

“Canada Research Chairs are working in areas of strategic importance to Canadian communities,” said Dr. Gilles G. Patry, president and CEO of the CFI. “And state-of-the-art research infrastructure ensures that this world-class talent will help Canada compete in a global knowledge economy.”

The 132 chairholders included in the announcement will conduct research in diverse fields, with potential benefits for policy-makers, businesses, practitioners and Canadians.

A full list of the chairholders is available here.

Details on the CFI’s funding for research infrastructure associated with the new Chair awards are available on the CFI website.

Media contacts:

Stephanie Kale
Media Relations Advisor
Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-996-8373
Email: stephanie.kale@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant (Communications)
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
Minister of State (Science and Technology)
Tel.: 613-960-7728
Email: stephanie.thomas@ic.gc.ca

Ryan Hill
Coordinator, Media Relations and Online Engagement
Canada Foundation for Innovation
Tel.: 613-943-5346
Cell.: 613-294-6247
Email: ryan.saxby-hill@innovation.ca

Karine Proulx
Media Relations Officer
University of Ottawa
Tel.: 613-562-5800, ext. 3149
Email: karine.proulx@uOttawa.ca

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’excellence de la recherche menée au sein des universités canadiennes afin de créer des emplois et de contribuer à la croissance économique


Les universités canadiennes recrutent les meilleurs chercheurs grâce à un financement fédéral

OTTAWA, Ontario, le 13 mars 2012 | Des chercheurs universitaires de partout au pays continueront à favoriser le progrès – notamment en ce qui concerne la prévention des maladies et leur traitement, la technologie informationnelle, le développement durable ainsi que les pratiques d’administration et de gestion – grâce à l’investissement fédéral lié au Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada. L’annonce a été faite aujourd’hui par l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie), lors d’une présentation donnée à l’Université d’Ottawa.

« Notre gouvernement investit dans des programmes de recherche qui ont un impact continu sur l’économie du Canada et qui sont importants pour ses citoyens, a indiqué M. Goodyear. Nous mettons l’accent sur ce qui est important, c’est-à-dire la création d’emplois et la croissance économique. En favorisant l’innovation, non seulement on encourage la recherche de pointe, mais on contribue à la création d’idées prometteuses sur le marché du travail afin de s’assurer que l’économie du pays demeurera solide. »

Au total, 132 chaires de recherche du Canada nouvelles ou renouvelées de 36 établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens obtiendront un financement de 124,5 millions de dollars pour mener des travaux de recherche novateurs. Cet investissement fédéral permet à ces établissements de consolider leur réputation de chefs de file mondiaux de la recherche et du développement, ce qui permet d’offrir de meilleures perspectives économiques aux Canadiens.

L’annonce d’aujourd’hui, qui avait lieu à l’Université d’Ottawa, présentait Julian Little, qui élabore des méthodes épidémiologiques pour examiner les rôles que jouent les gènes dans un certain nombre de maladies et mesure leurs réponses aux traitements ou aux interventions préventives. À titre de titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en épidémiologie du génome humain, M. Little aide à élaborer les techniques qui seront nécessaires pour traduire les découvertes génétiques en occasions pour la médecine préventive et en bienfaits sur la santé publique.

« Le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada aide les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens à devenir des centres de recherche de calibre mondial », a précisé M. Gaffield, président du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines et du comité directeur du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, qui assistait à cette annonce. « Grâce à ce financement, les chercheurs trouvent des solutions novatrices à des problèmes sociaux et économiques ainsi qu'à des problèmes de santé actuels et forment la prochaine génération des meilleurs chercheurs et scientifiques. »

L’investissement annoncé aujourd’hui comprend également 6,3 millions de dollars provenant de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI), qui sont consacrés à l’infrastructure de recherche liée aux nouvelles chaires attribuées.

« Les titulaires de chaire de recherche du Canada travaillent dans des secteurs qui sont d’une importance stratégique pour les communautés canadiennes », a ajouté Gilles G. Patry, président-directeur général de la FCI. « Une infrastructure de recherche de pointe permet de s’assurer que ces chercheurs de calibre international aideront le Canada à demeurer concurrentiel au sein d’une économie mondiale axée sur le savoir. »

Les 132 titulaires de chaire annoncés mèneront des travaux de recherche dans divers domaines, ce dont pourraient tirer profit des responsables de l’élaboration de politiques, des entreprises, des praticiens et le grand public.

La liste complète des titulaires de chaire est disponible ici.

Des détails sur le financement de la FCI lié à l’infrastructure de la recherche pour les attributions annoncées sont disponibles sur le site Web de la FCI.

Personnes-ressources des relations avec les médias :

Stephanie Kale
Conseillère en relations avec les médias
Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél.: 613-996-8373
Courriel : stephanie.kale@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale (Communications)
Cabinet de l’honorable Gary Goodyear
Ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie)
Tél.: 613-960-7728
Courriel : stephanie.thomas@ic.gc.ca

Ryan Hill
Coordinateur, Relations avec les médias et Réseaux sociaux
Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation
Tél.: 613-943-5346
Tél. cell.: 613-294-6247
Courriel : ryan.saxby-hill@innovation.ca

Karine Proulx
Agente de relations avec les médias
Université d’Ottawa
Tél.: 613-562-580, poste 3149
Courriel : karine.proulx@uOttawa.ca