Government of Canada Invests in Research Excellence at Canadian Universities

Federal funding to attract best and brightest minds

CALGARY, Alberta, November 14, 2013 | Top researchers at Canadian universities will receive nearly $109 million in funding from the Government of Canada to pursue world-class research across all disciplines to improve the quality of life of Canadians. The Honourable Greg Rickford, minister of state (Science and Technology, and Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario), made the announcement today at the University of Calgary.

“Our government remains committed to attracting and retaining the world’s best researchers, creating jobs and strengthening our economy,” said Rickford. “Through programs such as the Canada Research Chairs, we are supporting cutting-edge research at Canadian universities and fostering innovation by helping researchers bring their ideas to the marketplace, to benefit Canadians and improve our quality of life.”

The Government of Canada will provide $108.9 million through the Canada Research Chairs Program, to support 135 newly awarded and renewed Canada Research Chairs. Of that total, 26 researchers have been recruited from abroad, including 11 Canadians returning to work in their home country—demonstrating the success of the program in attracting and supporting research excellence and innovation in Canada. The research will be conducted at 41 Canadian postsecondary institutions, and will lead to benefits for Canadian families, businesses, practitioners and policy-makers.

The Canada Research Chairs Program was created with an annual budget of $300 million to establish up to 2,000 research professorships across the country and to position Canada as a world leader in postsecondary research. The program currently supports researchers, in more than 70 Canadian postsecondary institutions, who are conducting research in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities disciplines.

Today’s event at the University of Calgary featured Dr. Sabine Gilch, Canada Research Chair in Prion Disease Research. The University of Calgary will receive $500,000 over five years to support the work of Gilch, a new Tier 2 chairholder. Her research explores the molecular and cellular biology of prion diseases such as bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE), also known as “mad cow disease,” and its human variant, Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease; as well as “chronic wasting disease” affecting animals such as white-tailed and mule deer, elk and moose. Gilch’s goal is to identify new treatments for these currently untreatable and fatal diseases, thereby protecting the lives of Canadians.

“The scientific environment here at the University of Calgary is excellent,” said Gilch. “Alberta is really interesting, because there is no other place in the world that has to deal with both BSE and chronic wasting disease. My basic research on the cell biology of prion infection will benefit Canadians by leading to the discovery of new drug targets for treating prion diseases, and for limiting the spread of chronic wasting disease.”

“For more than 10 years, the Canada Research Chairs Program has served to attract the highest calibre of researchers across disciplines to Canadian postsecondary institutions,” said  Janet Walden, chief operating officer of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and member of the Canada Research Chairs Steering Committee. “The program is a magnet for expertise, talent and creativity. Through teaching and mentorship, the chairholders foster research excellence among the next generation of scholars.”

An additional $6.4 million for research infrastructure from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) was also announced, to support researchers by providing the most up-to-date facilities for conducting their innovative research.

“Since 2000, the CFI has provided Canada Research Chair holders with state-of-the-art equipment and facilities so they can explore the frontiers of knowledge,” says Dr. Gilles G. Patry, CFI’s president and CEO. “This research has led to new discoveries and innovations, and is helping Canadian businesses compete and create the jobs that we need today—and the jobs we will need tomorrow.”

A complete list of chairholders is available here.

Details on the CFI’s funding for research infrastructure associated with the new Chair awards are available on the CFI website.

Media contacts:

Stephanie Kale
Media Relations Advisor
Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-996-8373

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Greg Rickford
Minister of State (Science and Technology, and Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario)
Tel.: 613-943-6177

Yves Melanson
Co-ordinator, Media Relations           
Canada Foundation for Innovation
Tel.: 613-996-3160        

Leanne Yohemas
Manager, Media Relations
University of Calgary
Tel.: 403-540-6552

Le gouvernement du Canada finance l’excellence de la recherche dans les universités canadiennes


Du financement fédéral pour recruter les meilleurs talents

CALGARY (Alberta), le 14 novembre 2013 | Des chercheurs de haut niveau des universités canadiennes recevront près de 109 millions de dollars de financement du gouvernement fédéral afin de poursuivre des travaux de recherche de calibre mondial dans toutes les disciplines et d’améliorer ainsi la qualité de vie des Canadiens. L’honorable Greg Rickford, ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie, et Initiative fédérale du développement économique pour le Nord de l’Ontario), en a fait l’annonce aujourd’hui à l’University of Calgary.

« Le gouvernement du Canada demeure résolu à recruter et à garder au pays les meilleurs chercheurs du monde, à créer des emplois et à renforcer l’économie du Canada, affirme M. Rickford. Par l’intermédiaire de programmes tels que celui des chaires de recherche du Canada, le gouvernement fédéral appuie des travaux de recherche novateurs des universités canadiennes et favorise l’innovation en aidant les chercheurs à mettre en marché leurs idées de façon à en faire profiter les Canadiens et à améliorer leur qualité de vie. »

Le gouvernement du Canada investira 108,9 millions de dollars dans le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada afin de soutenir 135 chaires de recherche du Canada nouvelles ou renouvelées. Parmi les titulaires de chaire, 26 ont été recrutés à l’étranger, y compris 11 Canadiens qui sont de retour au pays – ce qui témoigne de la capacité du Programme à recruter des talents et à soutenir l’excellence en recherche et l’innovation au Canada. La recherche, qui sera menée dans 41 établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens, sera utile aux familles, aux entreprises, aux praticiens et aux responsables des politiques canadiens.

Depuis sa création, le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada a un budget annuel de 300 millions de dollars pour établir jusqu’à 2 000 professorats de recherche partout au pays et faire du Canada un chef de file mondial de la recherche postsecondaire. Le Programme soutient actuellement des chercheurs de plus de 70 établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens dans des disciplines liées aux sciences naturelles et au génie, aux sciences de la santé et aux sciences humaines.

L’annonce d’aujourd’hui a mis en vedette Sabine Gilch, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les maladies à prion de l’University of Calgary. L’établissement recevra 500 000 $ sur cinq ans pour soutenir les travaux qu’effectuera Mme Gilch dans le cadre de cette nouvelle chaire de niveau 2. La chercheure explore la biologie moléculaire et cellulaire de maladies à prion telles que l’encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine (ESB) – aussi appelée maladie de la vache folle – et sa variante humaine, la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob, et la maladie débilitante chronique des cerfs, des wapitis et des orignaux. Mme Gilch vise à protéger la vie des Canadiens en trouvant des traitements pour ces maladies mortelles contre lesquelles il n’en existe actuellement pas.

« L’University of Calgary profite d’un excellent milieu scientifique, souligne Sabine Gilch. L’Alberta est très intéressante, car aucun autre endroit au monde ne doit composer tant avec la BSE qu’avec la maladie débilitante chronique. Ma recherche fondamentale sur la biologie cellulaire des maladies à prion profitera aux Canadiens en permettant de trouver des cibles de médicaments pour traiter les maladies à prion et limiter la propagation de la maladie débilitante chronique. »

« Depuis plus de 10 ans, le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada a permis de recruter les chercheurs les plus talentueux de toutes les disciplines dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire », indique Janet Walden, chef des opérations du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et membre du Comité directeur du Programme. « Il attire l’expertise, le talent et la créativité. Par l’intermédiaire de l’enseignement et du mentorat, les titulaires de chaire stimulent l’excellence de la recherche dans la nouvelle génération de chercheurs. »

Une somme additionnelle de 6,4 millions de dollars de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI) a aussi été annoncée à l’appui des chercheurs. Elle servira à leur fournir les installations les plus récentes pour réaliser leurs travaux de recherche.

« Depuis l’an 2000, la FCI fournit aux titulaires de chaire de recherche du Canada de l’équipement et des installations à l’avant-garde de la technologie afin qu’ils explorent les frontières du savoir, ajoute Gilles G. Patry, président-directeur général de la FCI. Leur recherche, qui a donné lieu à de nouvelles découvertes et innovations, aide les entreprises canadiennes à être concurrentielles et à créer les emplois dont le Canada a besoin aujourd’hui – et dont il aura besoin demain. »

Vous pouvez consulter la liste complète des titulaires de chaire.

Des détails sur le financement de la FCI lié à l’infrastructure de la recherche pour les attributions annoncées sont disponibles sur le site Web de la FCI.

Personnes-ressources des relations avec les médias :

Stephanie Kale
Conseillère en relations avec les médias
Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél.: 613-996-8373
stephanie.kale@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l’honorable Greg Rickford
Ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie, et Initiative fédérale du développement économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario)
Tél.: 613-943-6177

Yves Melanson
Coordonnateur des relations avec les médias        
Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation
Tél.: 613-996-3160        
yves.melanson@innovation.ca

Leanne Yohemas
Gestionnaire des relations avec les médias
University of Calgary
Tél.: 403-540-6552
leanne.yohemas@ucalgary.ca