Peer Reviewers


Canada Research Chairs are awarded following a rigorous peer review process involving the College of Reviewers and the Interdisciplinary Adjudication Committee (IAC).

All nominations submitted to the Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) are reviewed by a minimum of three members of the College of Reviewers who are carefully selected by CRCP staff.

  • If the reviewers concur and their assessment is favorable, the Chairs Secretariat makes a recommendation to the Steering Committee to support the nomination.
  • In the case of foreign nominations (where the candidate is outside of Canada at the time of nomination), where peer review is unanimously favourable, the executive director of the Chairs program has the delegated authority to approve the funding recommendation made by the College of Reviewers.
  • If any of the three assessments are not favorable (where either the ratings are unsupportive, where concerns are raised within the review(s) or where the ratings are supportive but concerns are raised within the review(s)), the nomination is reviewed by the IAC, which then recommends to the Steering Committee whether or not to support the nomination (see Assessment of Reviews by the Chairs Secretariat below).

Dedicated Volunteers

The success of the CRCP’s peer review process is made possible by the members of the College of Reviewers—dedicated volunteers who generously give their time and expertise in assessing nominations. Their efforts benefit scientific communities throughout Canada and internationally, and are greatly appreciated by the Chairs Secretariat.

Confidentiality and Conflict of Interest

The CRCP complies with the Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Policy of the Federal Research Funding Organizations to ensure the effective management of any real or perceived conflict of interest involving participants in the peer review process, and to ensure the confidentiality of personal or commercial information submitted to the program.


The CRCP is committed to excellence in research and research training, and understands that the goals of excellence and equity are compatible and mutually supporting. Sound equity practices ensure that the largest possible pool of qualified candidates is accessed, without compromising the integrity of the program’s selection process.

Reviewers and committee members are instructed to reinforce standards of rigor, fairness, respect and equity when assessing the productivity of nominees as part of the peer review process.

return to top of page

College of Reviewers

All nominations, whether for a new chair, the renewal of a current chair, the advancement of a Tier 2 chairholder to a Tier 1 chair, or a resubmission, are assessed by the College of Reviewers.

The College of Reviewers is made up of experts (including current chairholders) from a wide range of fields of research.

Selection of Reviewers

For each chair nomination and each request for infrastructure support from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation (the CFI), the Chairs Secretariat carefully selects a minimum of three reviewers from the College of Reviewers. The Secretariat bases its selection on:

  • the expertise of the reviewer, which should be as close as possible to the nominee’s field(s); and
  • the reviewer’s capacity to provide a detailed, unbiased and critical review.

For interdisciplinary research, the Secretariat makes efforts to ensure that the referees selected have—individually or collectively—expertise in all the relevant disciplines and aspects of the proposal. When appropriate, referees from different research environments (e.g., academia, industry and government) are selected.

Assessment of Reviews by the Chairs Secretariat

All reviews received from the College of Reviewers are carefully examined and assessed by the Chairs Secretariat to ensure that reviewers have evaluated the merits of the nomination based on the CRCP’s selection criteria.

The Secretariat will secure additional reviews in cases where a reviewer does not submit their review, or if any one of the three reviews does not meet the Secretariat’s expectations in that it is sparse, not thoughtful, or does not discuss the evaluation criteria of the program, and/or does not provide reassurance that the external reviewer has done his/her due diligence in reviewing the nomination.

If the reviewers concur and the written assessments and funding recommendations are favourable, the Secretariat makes a recommendation to the Steering Committee to support the chair. All nominations for which concerns are raised within the reviews provided are sent for additional peer review by the IAC.

Note: It is not uncommon for a nomination to be sent to the IAC for peer review in cases where the ratings provided by the external reviewers are positive, but where a concern (or several) is raised within the content of a review. In these cases, the IAC is responsible for making a final funding recommendation.

return to top of page


In the case of a resubmission of an unsuccessful new nomination, an entirely new set of reviewers is chosen from the College of Reviewers to review the nomination. In other words, reviewers of a resubmitted nomination are never the same as those who reviewed the original unsuccessful nomination. 

Interdisciplinary Adjudication Committee

The IAC plays a key role in upholding the high level of excellence and prestige of the CRCP and a major role in ensuring the consistency of program standards.

Balanced Membership

The committee is made up of 16 experts from the College of Reviewers. Quality, experience, excellent judgment and proven ability to recognize excellence are the prime criteria for selecting committee members. A balanced membership is achieved by taking into account factors such as language, gender, region, sector of the economy, discipline and type of institution.

On the question of language, members are selected to ensure that the committee has the capacity to review proposals in Canada’s both official languages.

In addition, the committee includes internationally recognized researchers from outside Canada.

Experienced Members

The interdisciplinary nature of the peer review process is a fundamental part of ensuring a high level of excellence within the CRCP. Given the important role the IAC plays within the peer review process, committee members are chosen very carefully.

Members must have had recent peer review experience and a solid understanding of current peer review practices in the various discipline groupings.

Effectiveness as an interdisciplinary committee member is also a membership requirement. Members are selected on the basis of having the ability to recognize excellence across the various discipline groupings, and to review nominations that are outside their area of expertise.

Members are expected to be able to fully participate in all meeting deliberations.

IAC Recommendations

IAC members’ recommendations to the Steering Committee are informed by the reviews provided by the College of Reviewers, as well as by their own assessment of nominations stemming from IAC committee discussions. Having members serve on the IAC for several years ensures that the committee’s recommendations remain calibrated with previous decisions, and with respect to the CRCP’s selection criteria.

return to top of page

Expedited Peer Review of Foreign Nominations

In the case of nominations of foreign researchers who are employed outside of Canada at the time of submission, and where the assessment from the College of Reviewers is unanimously favourable, the peer review process is expedited. The executive director of the CRCP has the delegated authority to approve recommendations in such cases.

The IAC will review all foreign nominations that do not receive a favourable assessment from the College of Reviewers. Evaluations of these foreign nominations will take place at the same time as other nominations referred to the IAC within a given cycle. In cases where the foreign nomination was submitted late in a cycle, the unfavourable decision may be reviewed by IAC at its subsequent meeting.

Emerging Negative Decisions

Renewal nominations that are not recommended for support by the IAC are automatically entered into the Emerging Negative Decision (END) process. For these nominations, the institution is sent a synopsis of the IAC’s concerns and a copy of all of the reviewers’ reports.

The institution must provide the following supplementary information addressing the concerns raised by the peer reviewers:

  • a one-page (maximum) letter outlining the institution’s support for the proposed research program; and
  • a two-page (maximum) report addressing the concerns raised by the IAC (appendixes not permitted).

Institutions must submit this supplementary information by the deadline provided by the Secretariat.

At a subsequent meeting, the IAC reviews the original renewal nomination and the supplementary information provided by the institution, and makes a final funding recommendation to the Steering Committee. If the institution fails to provide the supplementary information by the deadline provided by the Secretariat, the nomination is automatically sent to the Steering Committee with a recommendation not to fund the nomination.

Funding Decisions

The Steering Committee considers the funding recommendations made by the Secretariat and IAC and makes the final funding decisions. The Secretariat then informs institutions of decisions and provides them with a copy of all review documentation. Institutions are encouraged to share this documentation with the candidates.

The executive director of the Secretariat informs institutions where funding decisions are not favourable.


Appeals of peer review decisions are not considered unless an administrative error was made in the management of the peer review process.

Decisions on Infrastructure Support Requests

In the case of requests for infrastructure support from the CFI (including cluster requests for infrastructure support, where the CFI funding is to be shared by two or more chairholders), reviewers make their recommendation to the Secretariat, which is responsible for the coordination of the peer review process on behalf of the CFI. The Secretariat communicates the reviewers’ recommendation to the CFI, which then makes the final decision on the request for infrastructure support.

See Requests for Infrastructure Support under Nominate a Chair for more information.

Instructions to Peer Reviewers

The instructions provided to peer reviewers can be found at the following links:

More Information

General Inquiries

Canada Research Chairs Secretariat
350 Albert Street, P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON  K1P 6G4
Tel.: 613-996-0239
Fax: 613-943-3282

Program Officer

Institutions, chairholders or potential nominees should contact their designated CRC program officer for additional information about the nomination process. Browse by province for the program officer assigned to your institution.


Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Manager, Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-943-7989

Évaluation par les pairs



Aperçu

Les chaires de recherche du Canada sont attribuées à l’issue d’un processus rigoureux d’évaluation par les pairs confié au Collège d’examinateurs et au Comité interdisciplinaire d'évaluation (CIE).

Toutes les candidatures présentées au Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada sont évaluées par au moins trois membres du Collège d’examinateurs judicieusement choisis par le personnel chargé du Programme.

  • Si l’évaluation de tous les examinateurs est favorable, le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements (SPIIE) recommande au comité directeur d’appuyer une candidature.
  • Si une candidature étrangère fait l’objet d’une évaluation par les pairs unanimement favorable et que le candidat se trouve à l’extérieur du Canada au moment de la mise en candidature, le directeur exécutif du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada a les pouvoirs délégués nécessaires pour approuver la recommandation de financement du Collège d’examinateurs.
  • Si l’une des trois évaluations n’est pas favorable (par exemple si les cotes données ne sont pas suffisantes, si des préoccupations sont soulevées dans l’évaluation ou encore si les cotes sont favorables mais que des préoccupations sont soulevées dans l’évaluation), le CIE évalue la candidature et recommande ensuite au comité directeur de l’appuyer ou non (voir Examen des évaluations par le Secrétariat ci-dessous).

Bénévoles dévoués

La réussite du processus d’évaluation par les pairs du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada repose sur les membres du Collège d’examinateurs – des bénévoles dévoués qui donnent généreusement de leur temps et partagent leurs connaissances spécialisées pour les besoins de l’évaluation des candidatures. Par les efforts qu’ils consacrent à cette tâche et  que le Secrétariat apprécie tout particulièrement, ils rendent service aux communautés scientifiques du Canada et de l’étranger.

Confidentialité et conflits d’intérêts

Le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada se conforme à la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et la confidentialité des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche afin de garantir une gestion efficace des conflits d’intérêts, réels ou perçus, relatifs à des participants au processus d’évaluation par les pairs et d’assurer la confidentialité des renseignements personnels ou commerciaux présentés au Programme.

Équité

Le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada favorise l’excellence de la recherche et de la formation en recherche et estime que les objectifs d’excellence et d’équité sont compatibles et complémentaires. De bonnes pratiques d'équité permettent de s’assurer d’avoir accès au plus grand bassin de candidats compétents possible sans pour autant compromettre l’intégrité du processus de sélection du programme.

Les examinateurs et les membres du Comité doivent respecter les normes de rigueur, d’impartialité, de respect et d’équité au cours de l’évaluation de la productivité des candidats dans le cadre du processus d’évaluation par les pairs.


return to top of page

Collèges d’examinateurs

Le Collège d'examinateurs évalue toutes les mises en candidature, qu'il s'agisse de la mise en candidature du titulaire d'une nouvelle chaire, du renouvellement du mandat d'un titulaire de chaire, du passage d'une chaire de niveau 2 à une chaire de niveau 1 ou de la présentation une nouvelle fois d’une candidature.

Le Collège d’examinateurs est formé d’experts (dont d’actuels titulaires de chaire) provenant d’un vaste éventail de champs de recherche.

Sélection des examinateurs

Pour chacune des mises en candidature présentées à une chaire et chacune des demandes de soutien à l’infrastructure soumises à la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (la FCI), le Secrétariat choisit judicieusement au moins trois examinateurs du Collège d’examinateurs. Le Secrétariat se fonde sur les facteurs suivants :

  • l’expertise de l’examinateur, qui doit correspondre le plus possible au(x) champ(s) de recherche du candidat;
  • la capacité de l’examinateur de réaliser une évaluation détaillée, impartiale et critique de la candidature.

Dans le cas de travaux de recherche interdisciplinaire, le Secrétariat s’efforce de choisir des examinateurs qui ont (individuellement ou collectivement) une expertise pertinente dans toutes les disciplines concernées et tous les volets de la proposition. Si la situation s’y prête, le Secrétariat choisit des répondants de différents milieux de recherche (comme le milieu universitaire, l’industrie et l’administration publique).

Examen des évaluations par le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements (SPIIE)

Les évaluations provenant du Collège d’examinateurs font toutes l’objet d’un examen approfondi; elles sont évaluées par le Secrétariat pour s’assurer que les examinateurs ont évalué le mérite de la candidature en tenant compte des critères de sélection du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada.

Le Secrétariat obtient des évaluations supplémentaires si un examinateur ne remet pas son évaluation ou si l’une des trois évaluations ne répond pas aux attentes parce qu’elle est trop peu détaillée, trop superficielle ou encore n’aborde pas les critères d’évaluation du programme et (ou) ne permet pas d’avoir l’assurance que l’examinateur externe a fait preuve de diligence raisonnable dans son évaluation de la candidature.

Si les examinateurs s’entendent sur le mérite d’une candidature et que les évaluations écrites et les recommandations quant au financement sont toutes favorables, le Secrétariat recommande au comité directeur d’appuyer la candidature. Toutes les candidatures pour lesquelles des préoccupations sont soulevées en cours d’évaluation font l’objet d’une évaluation par les pairs supplémentaire de la part du Comité interdisciplinaire d’évaluation (CIE).

Remarque : il n’est pas rare qu’on confie au CIE l’évaluation par les pairs d’une candidature dans des cas où les notes accordées par les examinateurs externes sont favorables mais où l’évaluation soulève une ou plusieurs préoccupations. En pareils cas, le CIE est responsable de la recommandation définitive quant au financement.


return to top of page

Présentation une nouvelle fois d’une candidature

Si une candidature qui a été rejetée est soumise une nouvelle fois, un tout nouveau groupe d’examinateurs provenant du Collège d’examinateurs est formé pour l’évaluer. Autrement dit, les examinateurs chargés d’évaluer une candidature soumise une nouvelle fois sont toujours différents de ceux qui ont évalué la candidature la première fois. 

Comité interdisciplinaire d’évaluation

Le CIE joue un rôle primordial dans le maintien du très haut niveau d’excellence et du prestige considérable du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, et il joue un rôle important pour ce qui est d’assurer la cohérence des normes du programme.

Composition équilibrée

Le Comité est formé de 16 experts du Collège d’examinateurs. La qualité, l’expérience, un excellent jugement et une capacité démontrée de reconnaître l’excellence sont les critères principaux sur lesquels se fonde le choix des membres du Comité. On obtient une composition équilibrée en tenant compte de facteurs tels que la langue, le sexe, la région, le secteur de l’économie, la discipline et le type d’établissement.

En ce qui concerne la langue, les membres sont choisis de façon à ce que le CIE soit en mesure d’évaluer des propositions présentées dans les deux langues officielles du Canada.

De plus, certains membres du CIE sont des chercheurs mondialement reconnus provenant de l’extérieur du Canada.

Membres d’expérience

Le caractère interdisciplinaire du processus d’évaluation par les pairs est un élément fondamental permettant de garantir un niveau d’excellence élevé au sein du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada. Compte tenu du rôle important que joue le CIE dans le processus d’évaluation par les pairs, on accorde beaucoup d’importance à la sélection des membres du Comité.

Les membres doivent pouvoir faire valoir une expérience récente du processus d’évaluation par les pairs et doivent comprendre à fond les pratiques en cours à cet égard dans les différents regroupements disciplinaires.

L’efficacité est également une exigence pour devenir membre d’un comité interdisciplinaire. Les membres sont choisis en fonction de leur capacité de reconnaître l’excellence dans divers regroupements disciplinaires et d’évaluer des candidatures qui ne relèvent pas de leur champ de spécialisation.

On s’attend à ce que les membres soient en mesure de participer pleinement à toutes les délibérations.

Recommandations du CIE

Les recommandations des membres du CIE au comité directeur reposent sur les évaluations fournies par le Collège d’examinateurs et sur leur propre évaluation des candidatures dans le cadre des délibérations du Comité. Il est important que les membres siègent au CIE pendant plusieurs années afin de garantir que les recommandations du Comité sont toujours calibrées par rapport aux décisions antérieures et par rapport aux critères de sélection du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada.


return to top of page

Évaluation par les pairs accélérée des candidatures étrangères

Si des chercheurs étrangers sont employés à l’extérieur du Canada au moment où leur candidature est présentée et que tous les membres du Collège d’examinateurs fournissent une évaluation favorable, il y a accélération du processus d’évaluation par les pairs. Le directeur exécutif du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada a les pouvoirs délégués nécessaires pour approuver les recommandations qui sont faites dans de telles situations.

Le CIE examine toutes les candidatures étrangères qui n’obtiennent pas une évaluation favorable de la part du Collège d’examinateurs. Ces candidatures étrangères sont évaluées en même temps que les autres candidatures que le CIE se voit confier dans le cadre d’un cycle donné. Si une candidature étrangère est soumise tard dans le cadre d’un cycle, le CIE peut revoir la décision défavorable au cours de sa réunion subséquente.

Décisions défavorables possibles

Les demandes de renouvellement dont le financement n’est pas recommandé par le CIE suivent automatiquement le processus établi pour les décisions défavorables possibles. Pour ces candidatures, l’établissement reçoit un résumé des préoccupations du CIE et les rapports de tous les examinateurs.

L’établissement doit fournir les renseignements supplémentaires suivants pour donner suite aux préoccupations soulevées par les examinateurs :

  • une lettre d’une page (maximum) faisant état du soutien de l’établissement au programme de recherche proposé;
  • un rapport de deux pages (maximum) portant sur les préoccupations soulevées par le CIE (annexes non permises).

Les établissements doivent présenter ces renseignements supplémentaires avant la date limite fixée par le Secrétariat.

Au cours d’une réunion subséquente, le CIE examine la demande de renouvellement présentée initialement ainsi que les renseignements supplémentaires fournis par l’établissement, et il transmet une recommandation définitive au comité directeur quant au financement. Si l’établissement ne fournit pas les renseignements supplémentaires avant la date limite fixée par le Secrétariat, la candidature est automatiquement renvoyée au comité directeur, et il est recommandé de ne pas accorder de financement.

Décisions en matière de financement

Le comité directeur examine les recommandations formulées par le Secrétariat et le CIE au sujet du financement et prend les décisions définitives à cet égard. Le Secrétariat avise ensuite les établissements des décisions et leur transmet un exemplaire de tous les documents ayant servi à l’évaluation. On incite les établissements à transmettre la documentation aux candidats.

Le directeur exécutif du Secrétariat avise les établissements des décisions de financement défavorables.

Appels

À moins qu’il y ait eu une erreur administrative dans la gestion du processus d’évaluation par les pairs, on ne peut faire appel des décisions découlant de l’évaluation par les pairs.

Décisions concernant les demandes de soutien à l’infrastructure

En ce qui a trait aux demandes de soutien à l’infrastructure présentées à la FCI (y compris les demandes regroupées de soutien à l’infrastructure, dans le cadre desquelles les fonds versés par la FCI doivent servir à deux titulaires de chaire ou plus), les examinateurs présentent leur recommandation au Secrétariat, qui se charge de la coordination du processus d’évaluation par les pairs pour la FCI. Le Secrétariat communique la recommandation des examinateurs à la FCI, qui prend la décision définitive au sujet des demandes de soutien à l’infrastructure.

Voir la section Demandes de soutien à l’infrastructure, dans la page Mise en candidature d’un titulaire de chaire, pour plus de précisions.

Instructions à l’intention des examinateurs

On peut consulter les instructions à l’intention des examinateurs aux pages suivantes :

Renseignements supplémentaires


Demandes de renseignements généraux

Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements
350, rue Albert, CP 1610
Ottawa ON  K1P 6G4
Tél. : 613-996-0239
Téléc. : 613-943-3282
Courriel : information@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Agent de programme

Les établissements, les titulaires de chaire et les candidats peuvent communiquer avec l’agent de programme chargé de leur dossier pour obtenir plus de précisions sur le processus de mise en candidature. Cliquez sur la province où est situé l’établissement pour connaître le nom de l’agent de programme.

Administration

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Gestionnaire, Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél. : 613-943-7989
Courriel : marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca