Instructions to College of Reviewers Members


Thank You

On behalf of the Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat, we would like to thank you for participating in the peer review of the program. Dedicated volunteers like you who generously offer time and expertise make the success of the peer review process possible. The program, the Chairs Steering Committee and the scientific community appreciate your efforts.

Excellence

The objective of the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) Program is to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds to Canada. It is founded upon an uncompromising commitment to excellence in research and research training. Reviewers play a key role in upholding the high level of excellence and prestige of the program, and in doing so, ensure accountability, not only to the Government of Canada and the Canadian taxpayer—the source of the program’s funding—but to the research community at large.

  • Tier 1 Chairs are for outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields
  • Tier 2 Chairs are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field

Review Process

Canada Research Chairs are awarded following a rigorous peer-review process, in which members of the College of Reviewers assess each application and make recommendations to the Chairs Steering Committee for funding.

  • A minimum of three expert reviewers from the College of Reviewers assesses each new or renewal nomination, and, if applicable, the related Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) infrastructure request.
  • The Interdisciplinary Adjudication Committee reviews all nominations that have received one or more unfavourable assessments from members of the College of Reviewers.
  • Based on the recommendations of the members of the College of Reviewers and/or the Interdisciplinary Adjudication Committee, the Secretariat makes funding recommendations to the program’s executive director or the steering committee.
  • In the case of CFI infrastructure requests or cluster infrastructure requests (where the CFI funding is to be shared by two or more chairholders) the reviewers make their recommendation to the Secretariat, which is responsible for the coordination of the peer-review process. The Secretariat communicates the recommendation to CFI, which makes the final decision.

Instructions to reviewers

Conflict of Interest

The Canada Research Chairs program complies with the Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Policy of the Federal Research Funding Organizations to ensure the effective management of conflict of interest of any participant in the review process and to ensure confidentiality of personal or commercial information submitted to the program. Reviewers must carefully read the policy and ensure that they are not in a conflict of interest before commencing their review.

A fair and balanced review

The success of the program’s peer-review process critically depends on the willingness and ability of all reviewers to be fair and reasonable; to exercise rigorous scientific judgment; and to understand, and take into account in a balanced way, the particular context of each nomination. Using the materials provided, reviewers are asked to present a balanced review of the nomination (noting both the application’s strengths and weaknesses) in both of the program’s evaluation criteria categories.

Reviewing a nomination

Reviewers should:

  • Familiarize themselves with the CRC program by reading the program description.
  • Review the different evaluation criteria for both new Tier 1 vs. Tier 2 nominations and renewal Tier 1 vs Tier 2 nominations (as applicable for the type of nomination being reviewed). NOTE: the specific instructions that were used by the nominating institution and the nominee to present their information are within the review package which is sent directly to reviewers by program staff.
  • Review the program’s guidelines for Assessing Productivity.
  • Review the nomination, and, if applicable, the CFI infrastructure request. These documents are included in the review package.
  • Review the institution’s Strategic Research Plan (SRP), which outlines their priority research areas and their plans for the Chair. Assess the fit of the proposed Chair with the university’s SRP (in addition to being available on the Chairs website, this document is also included in the review package).

Important notes:

Submitting your online review
Use the PIN and password included in your review package to access the online reviewer report form and instructions. Please submit the review by the deadline provided. If you cannot meet this deadline or have any other questions related to the review process, please contact program staff as soon as possible.

Missing your PIN and password or have a question?
If you have any questions or did not receive or do not know your PIN or password, please contact the Secretariat by email at information@chairs-chaires.gc.ca or by telephone at 613-943-3087.

Safeguard your anonymity
To safeguard your anonymity, please ensure that you do not identify yourself through your comments or indicate your name/institution within the text of your review. Once the peer review of the nomination is complete, the text of your appraisal will be sent to the institution and the nominee exactly as submitted (i.e., without any changes or edits).

Confidentiality
Material entrusted to you must be used only for the purposes of your review and assessment, and may not be used for other purposes. All information related to the nomination and your assessment must be treated as strictly confidential and must not be discussed or disclosed to anyone without prior approval from the Secretariat. Note that the documentation must be destroyed in a secure manner after you have completed your review.

Instructions à l'intention des membres du Collège d'examinateurs


Remerciements

Au nom du Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements, nous aimerions vous remercier de votre participation à l’évaluation par les pairs du Programme. Si le processus d’évaluation par les pairs peut porter ses fruits, c’est grâce à des bénévoles dévoués comme vous, qui y consacrent leur talent et leur temps. Le Programme, le Comité directeur du Programme et le milieu scientifique vous savent gré de votre travail.

Excellence

L’objectif du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada est d’attirer et de retenir au pays les esprits les plus accomplis et les plus prometteurs du monde. Il repose sur un engagement indéfectible à l’égard de l’excellence en recherche et en formation. Les évaluateurs jouent un rôle essentiel dans le maintien de l’excellence et du prestige du Programme. Par le fait même, ils soutiennent la reddition de comptes, non seulement envers le gouvernement du Canada et les contribuables canadiens – source des fonds alloués au Programme –, mais envers le milieu de la recherche.

  • Les chaires de niveau 1 sont détenues par des chercheurs exceptionnels reconnus par leurs pairs comme des chefs de file mondiaux dans leur domaine.
  • Les chaires de niveau 2 sont détenues par de nouveaux chercheurs exceptionnels reconnus par leurs pairs comme étant susceptibles de devenir des chefs de file dans leur domaine.

Processus d'évaluation

Les chaires de recherche du Canada sont attribuées à l’issue d’un processus rigoureux d’évaluation par les pairs. Les membres du Collège d’examinateurs évaluent chacune des candidatures et font des recommandations de financement au Comité directeur du Programme.

  • Au moins trois évaluateurs experts du Collège d’examinateurs évaluent chaque nouvelle candidature ou demande de renouvellement et, s’il y a lieu, la demande d’infrastructure qui l’accompagne à l’intention de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI).
  • Le Comité interdisciplinaire d’évaluation évalue les candidatures qui ont fait l’objet d’une ou de plusieurs évaluations défavorables de la part des membres du Collège d’examinateurs.
  • Le secrétariat fait des recommandations au directeur exécutif ou au Comité directeur du Programme d’après les recommandations des membres du Collège d’examinateurs ou du Comité interdisciplinaire d’évaluation.
  • Dans le cas des demandes d’infrastructure s’adressant à la FCI ou des demandes d’infrastructure pour lesquelles le financement de la FCI sera partagé entre deux titulaires de chaire ou plus, les examinateurs présentent leurs recommandations au secrétariat, qui est chargé de la coordination du processus d’évaluation par les pairs. Le secrétariat soumet les recommandations à la FCI, qui rend sa décision.

Instructions à l'intention des évaluateurs

Conflit d'intérêts

Le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada observe la Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche pour assurer la gestion efficace des situations de conflit d’intérêts qui pourraient toucher ceux qui prennent part au processus d’évaluation et pour garantir la confidentialité des renseignements personnels ou commerciaux transmis dans le cadre du Programme. Avant de commencer leur évaluation, les évaluateurs doivent bien lire la politique et s’assurer qu’ils ne se trouvent pas en situation de conflit d’intérêts.

Une évaluation juste et objective

Le succès du processus d’évaluation par les pairs du Programme est fortement lié à la volonté et à la capacité des évaluateurs de se montrer justes et raisonnables, de faire preuve d’un jugement scientifique rigoureux et de comprendre le contexte particulier de chaque candidature, tout en en tenant compte de manière impartiale. Après avoir examiné les documents fournis, les évaluateurs doivent faire une évaluation objective de la candidature (ses points forts et ses points faibles) dans les deux catégories de critères du Programme.

Évaluation d'une candidature

Obligations des évaluateurs

  • Se familiariser avec le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada par la lecture de sa description.
  • Passer en revue les divers critères d’évaluation des nouvelles candidatures de niveaux 1 et 2 et des demandes de renouvellement des candidatures de niveaux 1 et 2 (selon le type de candidature évalué). NOTE : Les instructions particulières qu’ont utilisées le candidat et l’établissement ayant soumis la candidature pour présenter les renseignements se trouvent dans la trousse d’évaluation, que le personnel du Programme envoie directement aux évaluateurs.
  • Passer en revue les lignes directrices du Programme sur l’évaluation de la productivité.
  • Évaluer la candidature et, le cas échéant, la demande d’infrastructure s’adressant à la FCI. Ces documents font partie de la trousse d’évaluation.
  • Passer en revue le plan de recherche stratégique de l’établissement, qui expose ses domaines prioritaires de recherche et ses plans à l’égard de la chaire. Évaluer la pertinence de la chaire proposée par rapport au plan de recherche stratégique de l’université. (On peut consulter ce document dans le site du Programme des chaires de recherche, mais il fait aussi partie de la trousse.)

Remarques importantes

Soumission d’une évaluation en ligne
Pour accéder au rapport et aux instructions des évaluateurs en ligne, utilisez le numéro d’identification personnel et le mot de passe qui se trouvent dans votre trousse d’évaluation. Veuillez soumettre l’évaluation avant la date limite. Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de respecter cette date limite ou que vous avez des questions sur le processus d’évaluation, adressez-vous au personnel du Programme dans les meilleurs délais.

Absence de numéro d’identification personnel et de mot de passe ou questions
Vous avez des questions? Vous n’avez pas reçu ou ignorez votre numéro d’identification personnel ou votre mot de passe? Écrivez au Programme des chaires de recherche à information@chairs-chaires.gc.ca ou appelez au 613-943-3087.

Protection de l’anonymat
Pour conserver l’anonymat, faites en sorte que les commentaires que vous formulez à l’évaluation ne permettent pas de vous reconnaître. Taisez votre nom et le nom de l’établissement auquel vous êtes rattaché. Une fois l’évaluation par les pairs de la candidature terminée, le texte qui en résulte est envoyé à l’établissement et au candidat tel qu’il a été soumis (c.-à-d. sans être retouché).

Confidentialité
La documentation qui vous est confiée est confidentielle et peut être utilisée uniquement dans le cadre votre évaluation. Tous les renseignements concernant la candidature et votre évaluation doivent demeurer confidentiels. Ils ne peuvent ni faire l’objet de discussions ni être divulgués sans l’approbation du secrétariat. La documentation doit être détruite de façon sécuritaire à la suite de votre évaluation.