Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan


The Canada Research Chairs Program is implementing the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan outlined below to respond to the recommendation in the program’s 15th-year evaluation that management should require institutions to adopt greater transparency in their allocation, selection and renewal processes for chairholders.

The action plan will focus on improving the governance, transparency and monitoring of equity and diversity within the program. These actions will support institutions in making swift progress towards addressing the underrepresentation of the four designated groups (FDGs)—women, persons with disabilities, Aboriginal Peoples and members of visible minorities—within the program. More substantive changes that may be necessary to address the equity and diversity challenges within the program will be considered as part of a public consultation (see A.1 below).

For more information, refer to the Frequently Asked Questions, and read an open letter  sent to university presidents in May 2017.


A) Improved transparency and implementation of best practices within recruitment processes

Action Timeline

A.1

Conduct a public consultation
The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat will conduct a formal, public consultation on the potential changes that could be made to the program to respond to the 15th-year evaluation’s seven recommendations. This includes additional changes (not included in this plan) that may be necessary to address equity and diversity challenges in the program.
                                                                                                                 
This consultation with key stakeholders will provide an opportunity for all individuals to give their feedback through an open forum on the CRCP website.

Consultation now available

A.2

Require institutions to develop their own equity, diversity and inclusion action plans

All institutions with five or more chair allocations will be required to develop an equity, diversity and inclusion action plan. This plan will guide their efforts in sustaining the participation of and/or addressing the underrepresentation (based on institutions’ equity gaps) of individuals from the FDGs among their chair allocations. Institutions will be required to report publicly and to the program on the progress made in meeting their objectives on a yearly basis.

The plan must include impactful equity, diversity and inclusion objectives that will enable swift progress towards addressing the disadvantages currently experienced by individuals from the FDGs in accessing and benefiting from the program. Institutions must progressively meet these objectives in the 18 to 24 months following the implementation of the plan on December 15, 2017. This means that the objectives must be met by December 2019. The objectives must be set based on the number of chair allocations that are (or will become) available in the institution within the next 18 to 24 months.

Institutions should develop the plans in collaboration with individuals from each of the FDGs, chairholders, faculty and administrators responsible for implementing the program at the institution. Refer to the Chairs Administration Guide for more details.

Due December 15, 2017

A.3

Implement the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Public Accountability and Transparency Requirements for all participating institutions as an eligibility requirement

To be eligible for the program, all institutions with five or more chair allocations must clearly publish on their websites specific information, by October 27, 2017, regarding the management of their chair allocations. For a list of the required information, refer to the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Public Accountability and Transparency Requirements in the Chairs Administration Guide.

Due October 27, 2017

A.4

Require that institutions submit a copy of the open job advertisement with the paper copy of all nominations submitted to the program for peer review
As of the October 2017 nomination deadline, the program will not accept nominations that do not provide evidence of an openly advertised process. This applies to all new, advancement and foreign nominations, and those for both external and internal recruitment.

As of October 23, 2017

A.5

Increase the number of institutions included in the yearly monitoring schedule to verify the transparency of their recruitment and nomination processes

As part of their mandate, the Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion will conduct a yearly review of the transparency and openness of institutional recruitment processes and report to the management committee on the results and recommended actions.

The Secretariat will continue to monitor chairs job posting advertisements to ensure that they meet the program’s requirements regarding the Tier 2 justification option for individuals who are more than ten years from their highest degree and who have taken career breaks and include institutional equity statements.

Spring/summer 2017

A.6

Require that all institutions provide training to all individuals involved in the recruitment and nomination processes

Deans, department chairs, research grants officers, and search and hiring committee members (as applicable) must receive training on the importance of equity, diversity and inclusion within the program, and on the potential negative impact of unconscious bias on the career paths of individuals from the FDGs.

As of November 2017

A.7

Develop and share best practices for recruitment, hiring and retention 

The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Best Practices for Recruitment, Hiring and Retention document, which does not include requirements, is a tool provided for institutions to use as they assess and determine what measures are needed to meet their equity and diversity objectives. 

May 2017

A.8

Review and revise the program’s current Guidelines for ensuring a  fair and transparent recruitment process 

The guidelines will be revised to ensure that they are aligned with the program’s mandate, and equity, diversity and inclusion goals.

Spring/summer 2017

A.9

Demonstrate leadership by participating in and promoting the 2017 Gender Summit

The 2017 Gender Summit, will be in Montréal, QC, from November 6 to 8, 2017.

November 6 to 8, 2017

B) Target-setting methodology and data collection

Action Timeline

B.1

Review and revise the current equity target-setting methodology that is used to set targets within the program

Current methodology on establishing equity and diversity targets is available on the program’s website.

2018-19

B.2

Require that all institutions (small-, medium- and large-sized) participate in the equity target-setting exercise

Once the methodology is revised, all institutions will be required to participate in the exercise to update their equity data and reset the baseline.

2018-19

B.3

Continue to publicly share each year the results of the target-setting exercise

The program will publish the results of the target-setting exercise on its website. In consideration of the Privacy Act, it will not release the number of chairholders who self-identify if the number is five or less to protect the identity of the individuals.

The latest statistics are available on the program’s website.

2018-19

B.4

Require that all institutions collect data (using best practices) on the participation of individuals from the FDGs, applicants to chairs job postings and active chairholders

Best practices regarding how to collect this type of data from respondents have been shared with institutions in the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Best Practices for Recruitment, Hiring and Retention tool. This includes how to encourage self-identification, identifying how the data will be used, communicating the privacy measures that will be taken to protect the data, and not double-counting individuals within any analysis and reporting of the data.

As of December 2017

B.5

Require that all institutions participate in the newly reinstated University and College Academic Staff System survey administered by Statistics Canada

 

2017 and ongoing

B.6

Develop tools for collecting data on the participation of individuals from the FDGs within the funding programs of the three federal research funding agencies

The Secretariat will work with the executive vice-presidents of the three federal funding agencies—the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council—to develop harmonized tools for collecting self-identification data from applicants to all of their respective research funding programs.

spring/summer 2017

C) Clarification within program literature

Action Timeline

C.1

In keeping with best practices, expand the focus of the program’s equity efforts by including both diversity and inclusion as expected outcomes of the program’s and institutions’ equity efforts

It has been shown that organizations are more successful at being equitable when they value diversity and inclusion, in addition to equity. The benefits of diversity, in terms of the retention of individuals and greater collaboration and innovation, are also more likely to be realized when a broader approach is taken.

As of May 2017

C.2

Clarify expectations regarding equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the program’s literature

The program’s commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion
The Government of Canada and the CRCP are committed to excellence in research and research training for the benefit of Canadians. Achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to seize opportunities and for responding to global challenges. As such, the program is committed to the federal government’s policies on non-discrimination and employment equity.

Participating institutions administer funds in partnership with the agencies and the Secretariat. Therefore, all institutions that accept agency funding are expected to make concerted efforts to meet their equity and diversity targets, and provide a supportive and inclusive workplace. This supports the goals of equity, diversity and inclusion within the CRCP and the broader Canadian research enterprise.

Visit the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Practices page for more information.  

As of May 2017

C.3

Clarify the program’s literature to ensure that institutions consider their equity targets, gaps and the “glass ceiling” effect* during decision-making processes

Institutions should consider this when deciding whether to nominate, renew, advance or phase-out (in the case of the loss of an allocation) chairholders. Institutions are also encouraged to consider limiting the renewal of Tier 1 third term chairholders in consideration of their equity targets. As of May 2017, only 20 per cent of currently active Tier 1 chairholders are women.

*The glass ceiling effect refers to an invisible barrier (likely influenced by unconscious bias) that keeps individuals from the FDGs (especially women) from rising above certain ranks professionally, despite their equivalent qualifications to other candidates for the position, promotion or award. 

As of May 2017

C.4

Revise the chairs nomination form to improve the collection of data necessary to monitor equity within the program

The Secretariat will amend the self-identification form in the chairs CV to:

  • change the way the questions are asked to align with best practices for collecting this type of data;
  • identify the benefits of self-identification; and
  • clarify how the information collected will be used and protected.

The Secretariat will also revise the administrative page in the nomination package to ask institutions specific questions regarding the transparency of the recruitment and nomination process for each chair nomination submitted to the program.

October 2017

C.5

Change the leaves policy to allow chairholders to work part time for a determinate period of time (12 months or less) as they transition back to work after maternity, parental, medical or family medical leaves

As of May 2017

C.6

Clarify that the expenses related to equity and diversity efforts are eligible under the Research Support Fund

The Research Support Fund’s list of eligible expenses has been revised to clarify that equity and diversity related expenses—such as training on unconscious bias, salaries of equity officers and equity consultant fees—are eligible expenses.

As of May 2017

D) Improved governance

Action Timeline

D.1

Conduct an analysis of success rates of individuals from the FDGs to monitor for bias in the program’s peer review process

A data field will also be added to the program’s IT platform and the chairholder nomination form, to enable monitoring for potential unconscious bias in the peer review of all nominations that include career interruptions.

summer 2017

D.2

Revise the terms of reference of the Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Policy to:

  • have them report directly to the program’s senior management governance committees;
  • expand the committee’s mandate to include all of the programs the Secretariat manages—the Canada Research Chairs Program, the Canada Excellence Research Chairs, the Canada First Research Excellence Fund and the Research Support Fund—in order to ensure alignment in terms of equity, diversity and inclusion within the four programs;
  • appoint an external chair to lead the committee;
  • expand the membership to include other key stakeholders (e.g., Universities Canada, international representatives from other research councils, such as the United Kingdom’s Research Councils, etc.);
  • add, as part of their mandate, a yearly review of the transparency and openness of institutional recruitment processes; and
  • advise on issues related to diversity and inclusion, as well as equity.

spring 2017

D.3

Explore ways to raise the prestige and significance of  the program’s Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Recognition Award

The Secretariat’s annual award recognizes institutions who affect substantive change in addressing equity, diversity and inclusion.

Spring/summer 2017

D.4

Provide training on unconscious bias for governance committee and peer review committee members

In addition to the yearly training received by Secretariat staff, the Secretariat will make biennial training on unconscious bias and equity, diversity, and inclusion mandatory for all of its governance committee and peer review committee members.

spring 2017

Program Updates

Updates on the implementation of the action plan will be available on the Program Updates page.

Questions

If you have enquiries related to the Canada Research Chairs Program’s equity, diversity and inclusion practices, please contact:

Sally Booth
Policy and Performance Analyst, Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-947-9203
Email: sally.booth@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Manager, Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-943-7989
Email: marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion


Le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada met en œuvre le Plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, dont les grandes lignes sont exposées ci-dessous, afin de donner suite à une recommandation découlant de l’évaluation quindécennale du Programme selon laquelle la haute gestion devrait exiger que les établissements fassent preuve d’une plus grande transparence dans l’attribution des postes de chaire de même que dans la sélection et le renouvellement des titulaires.

Le plan d’action vise à améliorer la gouvernance, la transparence et le suivi de l’équité et de la diversité dans le cadre du Programme. Il s’agit de mesures qui aideront les établissements à réaliser rapidement des progrès en vue de remédier à la sous-représentation des quatre groupes désignés – les femmes, les personnes handicapées, les Autochtones et les membres des minorités visibles – au sein du Programme. D’autres modifications plus substantielles qui pourraient être nécessaires pour surmonter les obstacles à l’équité et à la diversité inhérents au Programme seront envisagées dans le cadre d’une consultation publique (voir A.1 ci-dessous).

Pour plus de précisions, consulter la foire aux questions et la lettre ouverte envoyée aux recteurs des universités en mai 2017.


A) Amélioration de la transparence et de la mise en application de pratiques exemplaires dans les processus de recrutement

Mesure Échéance

A.1

Consultation publique

Le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements mènera une consultation publique en bonne et due forme relativement aux modifications qui pourraient être apportées au Programme dans la foulée des sept recommandations découlant de l’évaluation quindécennale. Cela comprendra les modifications (ne figurant pas dans le présent plan) qui pourraient être nécessaires pour surmonter les obstacles à l’équité et à la diversité inhérents au Programme.

La consultation menée auprès de parties prenantes clés donnera l’occasion à toute personne qui voudrait le faire de transmettre sa rétroaction par le truchement d’un forum ouvert à tous dans le site Web du Programme.

Mise en application au printemps ou à l’été 2017

A.2

Obligation, pour les établissements, d’élaborer leur propre plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion

Tous les établissements auxquels cinq chaires ou plus ont été attribuées sont tenus d’élaborer un plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion qui les guidera pour maintenir la représentation, ou remédier à la sous-représentation (en fonction des écarts en matière d’équité mesurés dans les établissements), des personnes des quatre groupes désignés dans l’attribution de ces chaires. L’établissement doit produire chaque année un rapport destiné au public et au Programme, dans lequel il fait état des progrès effectués dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs.

Ce plan doit inclure des objectifs percutants en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion qui permettront de réaliser des progrès rapidement pour ce qui est de remédier aux désavantages que subissent actuellement les personnes des quatre groupes désignés en ce qui concerne l’accès au Programme et les bienfaits à en tirer. L’établissement doit atteindre ces objectifs au cours des 18 à 24 mois suivant la mise en œuvre du plan, le 15 décembre 2017. Cela signifie qu’il doit avoir atteint ses objectifs d’ici décembre 2019. Il faut fixer les objectifs en se fondant sur le nombre de chaires attribuées à l’établissement qui seront (ou deviendront) libres dans les 18 à 24 mois qui suivent.

Le plan devrait être élaboré en collaboration avec des personnes de chacun des quatre groupes désignés, des titulaires de chaire, des professeurs et des administrateurs chargés de la mise en œuvre du Programme au sein de l’établissement. Consulter le Guide d’administration des programmes de chaire pour plus de précisions.

15 décembre 2017

A.3

Exigences en matière de reddition de comptes à la population et de transparence relativement à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion en tant que condition essentielle de l’admissibilité pour tous les établissements

Pour être admissibles au Programme, tous les établissements auxquels cinq chaires ou plus ont été attribuées doivent publier clairement dans leur site Web, au plus tard le 27 octobre 2017, l’information ayant trait à la gestion des chaires attribuées. Pour connaître l’information requise, se reporter à la rubrique Exigences en matière de reddition de comptes à la population et de transparence relativement à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion, dans le Guide d’administration des programmes de chaire.

27 octobre 2017

A.4

Obligation, pour les établissements, de fournir une copie des annonces publiées avec l’exemplaire papier de toute candidature soumise dans le cadre du Programme en vue de faire l’objet d’une évaluation par les pairs

À compter de la date limite pour présenter une candidature en octobre 2017, le Programme n’acceptera pas les candidatures présentées autrement qu’à l’issue d’un processus ouvert avec publication d’annonces. Cela s’appliquera à toutes les nouvelles candidatures, aux passages d’une chaire de niveau 2 à une chaire de niveau 1, aux candidatures de chercheurs étrangers ainsi qu’aux recrutements internes et externes.

 

À compter du 23 octobre 2017

 

A.5

Augmentation du nombre d’établissements inclus dans la surveillance annuelle visant à vérifier la transparence de leur processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature

Dans le cadre de son mandat, le Comité consultatif sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion procède à un examen annuel de la transparence et de l’ouverture des processus de recrutement des établissements et présente un rapport au Comité de gestion sur les résultats de cet examen et les mesures recommandées.

Le Secrétariat continue de surveiller les annonces de poste de titulaire de chaire afin de s’assurer qu’elles satisfont aux exigences du Programme en ce qui concerne la justification d’une chaire de niveau 2 dans le cas de personnes ayant obtenu leur diplôme le plus avancé plus de 10 ans auparavant et dont la carrière a été interrompue et aussi afin de s’assurer qu’elles contiennent un énoncé concernant l’engagement de l’établissement quant au respect de l’équité.

Printemps ou été 2017

A.6

Obligation, pour tous les établissements, d’offrir de la formation à toutes les personnes qui prennent part au processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature

Les doyens, les directeurs de département, les responsables des subventions de recherche, ainsi que les membres des comités de recrutement et d’embauche (selon le cas) doivent recevoir une formation sur l’importance de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans le cadre du Programme, ainsi que sur les effets pouvant s’avérer néfastes des préjugés involontaires sur le cheminement de carrière des personnes des quatre groupes désignés.

À compter de novembre 2017

A.7

Élaboration et diffusion de pratiques exemplaires en matière de recrutement, d’embauche et de maintien en poste

Le document Équité, diversité et inclusion : pratiques exemplaires pour le recrutement, l’embauche et le maintien en poste, qui ne porte pas sur les exigences, est un outil fourni aux établissements afin qu’ils l’utilisent au moment d’évaluer leurs pratiques et de déterminer les mesures nécessaires à l’atteinte de leurs objectifs en matière d’équité et de diversité.

Mai 2017

A.8

Examen et révision des lignes directrices pour garantir l’équité et la transparence du processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature du Programme

Ces lignes directrices seront révisées pour faire en sorte qu’elles concordent avec le mandat du Programme et avec ses objectifs en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion.

Printemps ou été 2017

A.9

Démonstration du leadership par la participation au Gender Summit 2017 et la promotion de ce sommet

Le Gender Summit 2017 aura lieu à Montréal, au Québec, du 6 au 8 novembre 2017.

Du 6 au 8 novembre 2017

B) Méthode d’établissement des cibles et collecte de données

Mesure Échéance

B.1

Examen et révision de la méthode d’établissement de cibles en matière d’équité utilisée actuellement dans le cadre du Programme

La méthode utilisée actuellement pour l’établissement de cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité se trouve dans le site Web du Programme.

2018-2019

B.2

Obligation, pour tous les établissements (quelle que soit leur taille, petite, moyenne ou grande), de procéder à l’établissement de cibles en matière d’équité

Une fois la méthode révisée, tous les établissements devront procéder à la mise à jour de leurs données en matière d’équité, ce qui permettra de revoir les valeurs de référence du Programme.

2018-2019

B.3

Poursuite de la diffusion publique annuelle des résultats de l’établissement de cibles en matière d’équité

Le Programme publiera les résultats de l’établissement des cibles dans son site Web. Afin de respecter la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, il ne rendra pas publics le nombre de titulaires de chaire qui font une déclaration volontaire si ce nombre est de cinq ou moins afin de protéger l’identité des personnes.

Les dernières statistiques sont consultables dans le site Web du Programme.

2018-2019

B.4

Obligation, pour tous les établissements, de recueillir des données (au moyen de pratiques exemplaires) sur la participation des personnes des quatre groupes désignés, les candidats aux postes de titulaire de chaire et les titulaires de chaire en poste

Les pratiques exemplaires concernant la collecte de données de cette nature ont été mises à la disposition des établissements dans le document Équité, diversité et inclusion : pratiques exemplaires pour le recrutement, l’embauche et le maintien en poste. Elles indiquent comment s’y prendre pour inciter à la déclaration volontaire, établir la façon dont les données seront utilisées, faire part des mesures de protection des renseignements personnels qui seront prises pour protéger les données et éviter de compter deux fois une même personne dans toute analyse et tout rapport faisant état des données.

À compter de décembre 2017

B.5

Obligation, pour tous les établissements, de participer à l’enquête Système d’information sur le personnel d’enseignement dans les universités et les collèges – Personnel enseignant à temps plein, qui vient d’être rétablie et est administrée par Statistique Canada

2017 et chaque année par la suite

B.6

Conception d’outils de collecte de données sur la participation des personnes des quatre groupes désignés dans le cadre des programmes de financement des trois organismes fédéraux qui subventionnent la recherche

Le Secrétariat collaborera avec les vice-présidents directeurs des trois organismes fédéraux qui subventionnent la recherche – les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines – afin de concevoir des outils harmonisés pour recueillir les données relatives à la déclaration volontaire auprès des personnes qui présentent une demande dans le cadre de tous leurs programmes de financement.

Printemps-été 2017

C) Clarification de la documentation du Programme

Mesure Échéance

C.1

Conformément aux pratiques exemplaires, élargissement de la portée des efforts faits en matière d’équité dans le cadre du Programme en y ajoutant la diversité et l’inclusion à titre de résultats attendus du Programme et des établissements

Il a été démontré que les organismes réussissent davantage à être équitables lorsqu’ils valorisent la diversité et l’inclusion, en plus de l’équité. Les avantages de la diversité, en ce qui a trait au maintien en poste des personnes, à une meilleure collaboration et à davantage d’innovation, sont plus susceptibles de se concrétiser lorsqu’une approche globale est adoptée.

À compter de mai 2017

C.2

Clarification des attentes relatives à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans la documentation du Programme

Engagement du Programme envers l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion
Le gouvernement du Canada et le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada s’engagent à favoriser l’excellence de la recherche et de la formation en recherche au profit des Canadiens. La recherche menée au Canada se doit d’être plus équitable, diversifiée et inclusive si l’on souhaite produire des résultats caractérisés par l’excellence, l’innovation et l’impact, lesquels sont nécessaires pour saisir les occasions qui se présentent et relever des défis mondiaux. C’est pourquoi le Programme s’engage à respecter les politiques fédérales de non-discrimination et d’équité en matière d’emploi.

Les établissements administrent les fonds obtenus pour les chaires avec l’aide des organismes subventionnaires et du Secrétariat. Par conséquent, tous les établissements qui acceptent des fonds sont tenus de déployer des efforts concertés pour atteindre leurs cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité et offrir un milieu de travail positif et inclusif. Ainsi, ils appuient les objectifs en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion au sein du Programme et du milieu canadien de la recherche dans son ensemble.

Pour en savoir plus, consulter la page consacrée aux pratiques d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion.

À compter de mai 2017

C.3

Clarification de la documentation du Programme afin de s’assurer que les établissements tiennent compte de leurs cibles en matière d’équité, des écarts et de l’effet du plafonnement voilé* au cours des processus décisionnels

Les établissements doivent tenir compte de cela lorsqu’ils prennent la décision de nommer un titulaire de chaire, de renouveler le mandat d’un titulaire, de faire passer le titulaire d’une chaire de niveau 2 à une chaire de niveau 1 ou d’éliminer une chaire (dans l’éventualité où un établissement perd une chaire qui lui avait été attribuée). Compte tenu de leurs cibles en matière d’équité, les établissements sont encouragés à limiter le nombre de titulaires de chaire de niveau 1 nommés pour un troisième mandat. En date de mai 2017, seulement 20 p. 100 des titulaires d’une chaire de recherche de niveau 1 en poste étaient des femmes.

* Par l’effet du plafonnement voilé, on entend une barrière invisible (probablement influencée par des préjugés involontaires) qui empêche les personnes des quatre groupes désignés (en particulier les femmes) de progresser au-delà de certains échelons professionnels malgré leurs qualifications équivalentes à celles d’autres candidats pour obtenir un poste, une promotion ou du financement.


À compter de mai 2017

C.4

Révision du formulaire de mise en candidature du titulaire de chaire afin d’améliorer la collecte des données nécessaires au suivi de l’équité au sein du Programme

Le Secrétariat modifiera le formulaire de déclaration volontaire dans le curriculum vitæ des chaires; il :

  • révisera la formulation des questions afin qu’elles soient harmonisées avec les pratiques exemplaires pour la collecte de ce type de données;
  • fera état des avantages de la déclaration volontaire;
  • apportera des clarifications en ce qui concerne l’utilisation et la protection de l’information recueillie.

Le Secrétariat révisera aussi la page réservée à l’administration dans le dossier de candidature, pour demander aux établissements de répondre à des questions précises concernant la transparence du processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature pour chaque mise en candidature soumise dans le cadre du Programme.

Octobre 2017

C.5

Modification de la politique sur les congés pour permettre aux titulaires de chaire de travailler à temps partiel pour une durée déterminée (12 mois ou moins) quand ils reviennent au travail à la suite d’un congé de maternité, d’un congé parental, d’un congé de maladie ou d’un congé familial pour raisons médicales

À compter de mai 2017

C.6

Clarification du fait que les dépenses liées aux efforts déployés en matière d’équité et de diversité sont admissibles en vertu du Fonds de soutien à la recherche

Les dépenses admissibles du Fonds de soutien à la recherche ont été modifiées pour préciser que les dépenses liées à l’équité et à la diversité – telles que la formation sur les préjugés involontaires, les salaires des agents en matière d’équité et les honoraires des experts-conseils en équité – représentent des dépenses admissibles.

À compter de mai 2017

D) Amélioration de la gouvernance

Mesure Échéance

D.1

Exécution d’une analyse du taux de réussite des personnes des quatre groupes désignés afin de vérifier s’il y a des préjugés dans le processus d’évaluation par les pairs du Programme

Un champ de données sera ajouté à la plateforme de TI du Programme et au formulaire de mise en candidature du titulaire de chaire, afin qu’il soit possible de déceler la présence de possibles préjugés involontaires dans le processus d’évaluation par les pairs des candidatures où des interruptions de carrière sont mentionnées.

Été 2017

D.2

Révision du mandat du Comité sur les politiques d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion

  • faire en sorte que ce comité relève directement des comités de gouvernance du Programme qui sont composés de membres de haut rang;
  • élargir le mandat du Comité afin qu’il englobe tous les programmes que gère le Secrétariat, à savoir le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, le Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada, le Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada et le Fonds de soutien à la recherche, de manière à assurer l’harmonisation de ces quatre programmes sur le plan de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion;
  • nommer un président externe qui sera chargé de diriger le Comité;
  • permettre à d’autres parties prenantes clés d’y être représentées (p. ex. permettre d’inclure des représentants d’Universités Canada et de conseils de recherche étrangers, comme les conseils de recherche du Royaume-Uni);
  • ajouter au mandat du comité un examen annuel de la transparence et de l’ouverture du processus de recrutement des établissements;
  • prodiguer des conseils sur des questions relatives à la diversité et à l’inclusion, outre l’équité.

Printemps 2017

D.3

Examen de différentes manières de rehausser le prestige et l’importance du processus de reconnaissance annuel de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion par le Programme

Le processus annuel mis en place par le Secrétariat reconnaît les établissements qui effectuent des changements substantiels pour ce qui est de tenir compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion.

Printemps ou été 2017

D.4

Formation des membres des comités de gouvernance et des comités d’évaluation par les pairs sur les préjugés involontaires

Outre la formation annuelle que reçoit son personnel, le Secrétariat offrira une formation bisannuelle obligatoire sur les préjugés involontaires et l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion à tous les membres des comités de gouvernance et des comités d’évaluation par les pairs.

Printemps 2017

Mises à jour du Programme

Des mises à jour sur la mise en œuvre du plan d’action seront publiées dans la page Mises à jour du Programme.

Questions

Pour toute question sur les pratiques du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, communiquer avec :

Sally Booth
Analyste des politiques et du rendement
Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél. : 613-947-9203
Courriel : sally.booth@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Gestionnaire
Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél. : 613-943-7989
Courriel : marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca