Program Details


How are Chairs awarded?

Canadian universities both nominate Canada Research Chairs and administer their funds.

Each eligible degree-granting institution receives an allocation of Chairs. For each Chair, a university nominates a researcher whose work complements its strategic research plan and who meets the program's high standards.

Three members of a College of Reviewers, composed of experts from around the world, assess each nomination and recommend whether to support it.

If you are interested in becoming a Canada Research Chair, please contact a Canadian university, or refer to this publication from the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada for job postings.



Types of Chairs

There are two types of Canada Research Chairs:

Tier 1 Chairs, tenable for seven years and renewable, are for outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields. For each Tier 1 Chair, the university receives $200,000 annually for seven years.

Tier 2 Chairs, tenable for five years and renewable once, are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field. For each Tier 2 Chair, the university receives $100,000 annually for five years.

Tier 2 Chairs are not meant to be a feeder group to Tier 1 Chairs. The intent of Tier 2 Chairs is to provide emerging researchers with support that will kick-start their careers. As part of their strategic considerations in managing their allocations, universities should develop a succession plan for their Tier 2 Chairs.



Infrastructure support from CFI

Chairholders are also eligible for infrastructure support from the Canada Foundation for Innovation to help acquire state-of-the-art equipment essential to their work.

Détails sur le programme


Comment les chaires sont-elles attribuées?

Les universités canadiennes posent les candidatures de chaires de recherche du Canada et administrent les fonds des titulaires.

Les chaires sont réparties entre chaque établissement admissible conférant des grades universitaires. Pour chaque chaire, l'université doit nommer un chercheur dont les travaux complètent son plan de recherche stratégique et répondent aux grandes normes de qualité du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada.

Trois membres du Collège d'examinateurs, composé de spécialistes du monde entier, évaluent les candidatures et font des recommandations quant à leur appui.

Si vous désirez devenir titulaire d'une chaire de recherche du Canada, veuillez communiquer avec une université canadienne ou consulter la publication d’Universités Canada pour prendre connaissance des avis d’emplois vacants.



Types de chaires

Il existe deux types de chaires :

Les chaires de niveau 1, renouvelables après sept ans, sont détenues par d'exceptionnels chercheurs reconnus par leurs pairs comme des chefs de file mondiaux dans leur domaine. Pour chaque chaire de niveau 1, l'université reçoit 200 000 $ par année pendant sept ans.

Les chaires de niveau 2, d'une durée de cinq ans et renouvelables une fois, sont détenues par d'exceptionnels nouveaux chercheurs reconnus par leurs pairs comme étant susceptibles de devenir des chefs de file dans leur domaine. Pour chaque chaire de niveau 2, l'université reçoit 100 000 $ par année pendant cinq ans.

Les titulaires de chaire de niveau 2 ne sont pas destinés à devenir des titulaires de chaire de niveau 1. Les chaires de niveau 2 ont pour but d’offrir aux chercheurs émergents le soutien qui donnera le coup d’envoi à leur carrière. Dans le cadre des considérations stratégiques liées à la gestion des chaires attribuées, les universités devraient mettre au point un plan de succession pour leurs titulaires de chaire de niveau 2.



Financement d'infrastructure de la FCI

Les titulaires de chaire peuvent également recevoir un financement d'infrastructure de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation, pour les aider à acheter l'équipement de pointe dont ils ont besoin pour effectuer leurs travaux.