The online public consultation on 15th-year evaluation


The public consultation is now closed. The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS) sincerely thanks the nearly 135 stakeholders who participated. TIPS will carefully consider the feedback, and any program changes are expected to be implemented during 2018-19.


The Government of Canada mandates that all federal programs undergo a formal evaluation every five years, to ensure that the program is accountable for the use of public funds; is efficient and effective; and is transparent and meeting its objectives. The findings from these evaluations are then used to manage and improve the program’s design, policies and procedures.

Consultation

The purpose of this consultation is to solicit feedback from stakeholders on potential changes that could be made to the Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) in response to the recommendations made in the 15th-year evaluation of the program.

Equity, diversity and inclusion within the program

In May 2017, the program launched an Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan to address without delay Recommendation 5 of the evaluation, which stated, “Management should require institutions to adopt greater transparency in their processes for allocation of Chair positions and selection and renewal of chairholders, in order to ensure institutions have greater accountability in terms of meeting their equity targets.”

The program welcomes feedback on what systemic barriers exist within the CRCP, and what additional measures could be taken to address the long-standing equity, diversity and inclusion challenges within the program.

The program welcomes and encourages the participation of individuals from the four designated groups (women, persons with disabilities, Aboriginal Peoples and members of visible minorities) in this consultation. Understanding the experiences and viewpoints of individuals from these groups is particularly important, in order to better understand what additional, meaningful measures could be taken to address the CRCP’s equity, diversity and inclusion challenges.

How to participate

Read the full 15th-year evaluation report and its recommendations and submit your comments to the Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat by using this feedback form. The consultation will be open from July 27, 2017, to September 25, 2017 (60 days).

Should you require accommodations to provide feedback due to a physical, mental, sensory, psychiatric or learning impairment, please contact the Secretariat.

Participants can provide their feedback and comments electronically, or by regular mail to:

Canada Research Chairs Public Consultation
Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat
350 Albert Street, 16th Floor
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON  K1P 6G4
Canada

Consultation results

The feedback provided by stakeholders will be carefully considered by program management during the fall/winter of 2017–18. It is expected that any program changes would be implemented during 2018-19.

Contacts

For further information or assistance, please contact one of the following:

Sally Booth
Policy and Performance Analyst
Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-947-9203
Email: sally.booth@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Manager
Canada Research Chairs Program
Tel.: 613-943-7989
Email: marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

La consultation publique sur l’évaluation quindécennale du Programme est maintenant disponible en ligne


Le gouvernement du Canada exige que tous les programmes fédéraux fassent l’objet d’une évaluation tous les cinq ans. Cette évaluation permet d’assurer la reddition de comptes sur la façon dont sont dépensés les fonds publics affectés à un programme et de garantir que ce dernier est pertinent, efficace, et transparent, et atteint ses objectifs. Les constatations de l’évaluation servent ensuite à la gestion et à l’amélioration de la conception, des politiques et des procédures du programme.

Consultation

Cette consultation vise à recueillir les observations des parties prenantes sur les modifications qui pourraient être apportées au Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, dans la foulée des recommandations formulées dans le cadre de l’évaluation quindécennale du Programme.

Équité, diversité et inclusion au sein du Programme

En mai 2017, le Plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion a été lancé afin de donner suite sans tarder à la recommandation 5 de l’évaluation, selon laquelle « [l]a haute gestion devrait exiger que les établissements fassent preuve d’une plus grande transparence dans l’attribution des postes de chaire de même que dans la sélection et le renouvellement des titulaires afin de veiller à ce que les établissements soient davantage tenus responsables du respect des cibles en matière d’équité ».

Les responsables du Programme souhaitent recueillir des observations sur les obstacles systémiques qui existent au sein du Programme et sur les mesures additionnelles qui pourraient être prises pour résoudre les difficultés de longue date constatées en ce qui concerne l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Ils encouragent vivement les personnes qui font partie des quatre groupes désignés (femmes, personnes handicapées, Autochtones et personnes de minorités visibles) à prendre part à cette consultation. Il est particulièrement important de comprendre les expériences et les points de vue des personnes de ces groupes pour avoir une meilleure idée des autres mesures pertinentes qui pourraient être mises en place.

Comment participer à la consultation

Lisez le texte intégral du rapport de l’évaluation quindécennale du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada et ses recommandations, puis soumettez vos observations au Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements en répondant au formulaire de commentaires. Le processus de consultation se déroulera du 27 juillet 2017 au 25 septembre 2017 (60 jours).

Si vous avez besoin de mesures d’adaptation pour fournir vos observations en raison d’une déficience soit de vos capacités physiques, mentales ou sensorielles, soit d’ordre psychiatrique ou en matière d’apprentissage, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat.

Les participants peuvent transmettre leurs commentaires et observations par voie électronique ou encore par la poste à l’adresse suivante :

Consultation publique du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements
350, rue Albert, 16e étage
CP 1610
Ottawa ON  K1P 6G4
Canada

Résultats de la consultation

La direction du Programme examinera attentivement les observations formulées par les parties prenantes au cours de l’automne et de l’hiver 2017-2018. Toute modification au Programme devrait être apportée en 2018-2019.

Personnes-ressources

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou de l’aide, veuillez communiquer avec l’une des personnes suivantes :

Sally Booth
Analyste des politiques et du rendement
Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél. : 613-947-9203
Courriel : sally.booth@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Gestionnaire
Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada
Tél. : 613-943-7989
Courriel : marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca