Consequences of not meeting the program’s equity, diversity and inclusion requirements

The Government of Canada is committed to excellence in research and research training for the benefit of Canadians. Achieving an equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to seize opportunities, and for responding to global challenges.

The following pages summarize consequences imposed on institutions that do not meet the program’s equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) requirements. Additional information on the program’s EDI requirements and practices can be found here.

This page is updated within 60 days of consequences being imposed or lifted.

Institution Public Accountability and Reporting Requirements EDI Action Plan Requirements

(results updated as institutions meet requirements)
December 2022 Equity Target Deadline Footnote * December 2025 Equity Target Deadline Footnote *

(results will be updated in early 2026)

Acadia University

Peer review decisions for all nominations (and, where applicable, associated funding for chair awards) will be withheld until the public accountability requirements are met.




Algoma University College





Athabasca University





Bishop's University





Brandon University





British Columbia Institute of Technology





Brock University





Canadian Mennonite University





Cape Breton University





Carleton University





Concordia University





Dalhousie University





EcÉcole de technologie supérieure





EcÉcole nationale d’administration publique





Emily Carr University of Art + Design





HEC Montréal





Institut national de la recherche scientifique





Kwantlen Polytechnic University





Lakehead University





Laurentian University


Limited to submitting new nominations only when individuals self-identify as belonging to one or more of the four designated groups.

Peer review decisions for all nominations (and, where applicable, associated funding for chair awards) will be withheld until the EDI plan is resubmitted and found to meet the requirements.



MacEwan University





McGill University





McMaster University





Memorial University of Newfoundland





Mount Allison University





Mount Royal University





Mount Saint Vincent University





Nipissing University





NSCAD University





OCAD University





Ontario Tech University





Polytechnique Montréal





Queen's University





Royal Military College of Canada





Royal Roads University





Saint Mary's University





Simon Fraser University





St. Francis Xavier University





St. Thomas University










The King's University (Edmonton)





The University of British Columbia




The University of Winnipeg





Thompson Rivers University





Toronto Metropolitan University





Trent University





Trinity Western University





Universiteé de Moncton





Universiteé de Montréal





Universiteé Saint-Boniface





Universiteé de Sherbrooke





Universiteé du Québec aà Chicoutimi





Universiteé du Québec aà Montréal





Universiteé du Québec aà Rimouski





Universiteé du Québec aà Trois-Rivières





Universiteé du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue





Universiteé du Québec en Outaouais





Universiteé Laval




University of Alberta





University of Calgary





University of Guelph





University of Lethbridge





University of Manitoba





University of New Brunswick





University of Northern British Columbia





University of Ottawa





University of Prince Edward Island





University of Regina





University of Saskatchewan





University of the Fraser Valley





University of Toronto





University of Victoria





University of Waterloo





University of Windsor





Vancouver Island University





Western University (The University of Western Ontario)





Wilfrid Laurier University





York University






Footnote *

In all cases where an institution’s equity targets and the representation data is less than five, results are withheld to protect the privacy of chairholders in alignment with the Privacy Act. There may be additional institutions that are not meeting their equity targets and have consequences imposed against them, but only those shown could be reflected in the table above. 

Return to first footnote * referrer