Method of Allocating Chairs


Overview
Regular Allocations
Special Allocations
Reclaiming lost Chairs and deactivation funding mechanism
Chairs toolbox



Overview

The allocation of Chairs to individual universities is an integral part of the Canada Research Chairs program. The process provides an element of dynamism to the program because the allocation is responsive to changes in research success at individual institutions.

The national re-allocation process is conducted every two years, includes both regular and special Chairs, and is based on the research grant funding received by researchers from the three granting agencies – CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC – in the three years prior to the year of the allocation.

Re-allocation process results

Results of the 2014 re-allocation (PDF document, 54 KB)

Results of the 2012 re-allocation (PDF document, 57 KB)

Results of the 2010 re-allocation (PDF document, 17 KB)

Results of the 2008 re-allocation (PDF document, 24 KB)


Regular Allocations

Of the total 2000 Chairs, 1880 are regular allocations, distributed by area of research as follows:

  • 846 Chairs (45 per cent) NSERC
  • 658 Chairs (35 per cent) CIHR
  • 376 Chairs (20 per cent) SSHRC

Method Used to Allocate Regular Chairs

Institutions that have received annually, an average of $100,000 or more from the three federal agencies in the three years prior to the year of the allocation are eligible for regular Chairs.

Three separate calculations are performed for each eligible institution to determine their Chair allocation within the three areas of research. The allocation method for regular Chairs pools together each granting agency's funding for all universities and allocates Chairs based on the portion of the granting agency's funding that each eligible institution has received. The funding received by each eligible university over three years is totalled.  The portion of granting agency support that each eligible institution holds in this grand total determines the number of Chairs allocated (i.e., the percentage of funding secured = the percentage of Chairs allocated).

Chairs are distributed in an alternating order: a Tier 2 is awarded first, followed by a Tier 1, followed by a Tier 2, etc.



top

Special Allocations

The program sets aside a special allocation of 120 Chairs for universities that have received one per cent or less of the total funding paid out by the three federal granting agencies over the three years prior to the year of the allocation. This is known as the "1% threshold". Unlike regular allocations, these Chairs are not allocated by granting agency, that is by area of research. Thus, universities can choose the areas in which they would like to use the Chair. Universities may also exchange one Tier 1 Chair for two Tier 2 Chairs, or two Tier 2 Chairs for one Tier 1 Chair, etc.

Note: Some universities will be eligible for both a regular allocation and a special allocation.

Eligibility Requirements for a Special Chair Allocation

To be eligible for a special Chair allocation, institutions must meet all three of the following criteria:

  • They must have received more than an average of $100,000 of grant dollars over the three fiscal years.
  • Their total grant dollars from all three granting agencies must be less than the 1% threshold.
  • They must have received fewer than 11 regular Chairs.

Graduation Mechanism

Universities that have a regular Chair allocation of 11 or more Chairs are not eligible for special Chairs. Starting at eight regular Chairs, as a university gains a regular Chair, they lose a special Chair. This is demonstrated in the table below.

Demonstration of Graduation Mechanism

Regular Chair allocation

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

Special Chair allocation

3

3

3

3

2

1

0

0

Total allocation

8

9

10

11

11

11

11

12

Method Used to Allocate Special Chairs

The Chairs program uses a competitive method to allocate special Chairs. The calculation pools the funding provided by all three granting agencies to all universities eligible for special Chairs in the three years prior to the year of the allocation for a grand total. The amount of funding that each institution contributes to this grand total determines the percentage of special Chairs it is allocated (i.e., the percentage of funding secured = the percentage of Chairs allocated).

A maximum of three special Chairs is distributed in an alternating order: a Tier 2 is awarded first, followed by a Tier 1, followed by a Tier 2.

Note: Universities receiving less than $200K in agency funding over the three fiscal years are awarded a single Tier 2 Chair.



top

Reclaiming Lost Chairs and Deactivation Funding Mechanism

If an institution's performance decreases relative to other institutions to the extent that the institution's Chair allocation is reduced through the re-allocation process, the Chairs Secretariat will reclaim the lost Chair allocations. The institution can choose, in consultation with the Secretariat, to give back unoccupied Chairs or to use a deactivation funding mechanism using a sliding scale of decreasing support (100–50–0 per cent) on active Chairs.

The duration of the deactivation period itself, as well as the length of time that funding will be applied at 100 per cent and 50 per cent may vary, depending on the Chairs program budget at the time. The level of funding provided for Chairs lost in the 2014 re-allocation is 100 per cent for six months, then 50 per cent for the next six months.

The deactivation following the 2014 re-allocation will commence October 1, 2015. Chairholders will retain their titles until the end of their existing terms.

The mechanisms provided within the Chairs toolbox, as outlined below, may also be used to reclaim lost Chairs.



top

Chairs Toolbox

Corridor of Flexibility

The corridor of flexibility provides universities with a set number of "flexible Chairs". This allows universities to change the tier or the research area of a limited number of their allocations.

For instance, a university may choose to change two Tier 2 Chairs into a Tier 1 Chair or change a Tier 1 Chair into two Tier 2 Chairs. They may also change an NSERC Chair to a CIHR Chair, or a CIHR Chair to an SSHRC Chair, etc. When a Chair is reverted to its original tier or research area as allocated in the calculation, the flex move is given back to the university.

The corridor of flexibility can also be used to reclaim Chairs lost within the re-allocation process. For example, a university may change a vacant Tier 1 SSHRC Chair into a Tier 1 NSERC Chair in order to return a Tier 1 NSERC Chair to the Secretariat. As demonstrated in the table below, the number of flexible Chairs a university is provided is proportional to its number of allocated Chairs.

Number of allocated Chairs Maximum number of "flexible Chairs"

1-50

5

51-100

10

101-150

15

151-200

20

201-250

25

251-300

30

When using the corridor of flexibility institutions must abide by the following guidelines:

  1. All flexible moves must be approved by the Secretariat.
  2. Universities are expected to contribute to the program's national distribution of Chairs (45 per cent NSERC, 35 per cent CIHR and 20 per cent SSHRC) by making efforts to bring their allocation of Chairs back to its original distribution. The Secretariat will monitor the national distribution of Chairs to ensure that it stays within an acceptable range.

Processus d’attribution des chaires


Aperçu
Processus normal d’attribution
Processus spécial d’attribution
Reprise des chaires perdues et mécanisme de désactivation du financement
Outils de gestion des attributions


Aperçu

L'attribution des chaires à chaque université admissible est un élément important du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada. Il s'agit d'un processus dynamique qui reflète les réussites en recherche d'un établissement.

Le processus d'attribution – qui comprend les processus normal et spécial d'attribution – est mis en marche tous les deux ans et se fonde sur le montant de financement de la recherche accordé aux chercheurs par les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (le CRSH, le CRSNG et les IRSC) au cours des trois dernières années.

Résultats du processus d'attribution


Processus normal d’attribution

Des 2 000 chaires du Programme, 1 880 ont été attribuées dans le cadre du processus normal d’attribution par discipline de recherche, comme suit :

  • 846 chaires (45 p. 100) au CRSNG;
  • 658 chaires (35 p. 100) aux IRSC;
  • 376 chaires (20 p. 100) au CRSH.

Méthode de calcul du processus normal d’attribution des chaires

Les établissements qui ont reçu en moyenne, chaque année, au moins 100 000 $ de financement de la part des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux au cours des trois années précédant la mise en marche du processus d’attribution peuvent se voir attribuer des chaires dans le cadre du processus normal d’attribution.

L'attribution de chaque établissement admissible est déterminée par trois calculs. Dans le cadre du processus normal d'attribution, la méthode consiste d'abord à mettre en commun le financement accordé par chacun des organismes subventionnaires à l’ensemble des établissements admissibles. On calcule ensuite le financement total reçu par chacun des établissements admissibles au cours d’une période de trois ans. Les chaires sont attribués selon la proportion du financement reçu par chacun des établissements par rapport au total du financement accordé par chacun des organismes subventionnaires (c’est-à-dire le pourcentage de financement obtenu = le pourcentage de chaires attribuées).

Le niveau des chaires attribuées alterne : la première chaire attribuée est de niveau 2, la deuxième est de niveau 1, la troisième est de niveau 2, et ainsi de suite.


top

Processus spécial d’attribution

Le Programme attribue, dans le cadre d’un processus spécial d’attribution, une série de 120 chaires aux universités qui ont reçu 1 p. 100 ou moins du financement total alloué par les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux au cours des trois années précédant la mise en marche du processus d’attribution. C'est ce qu'on appelle la « limite du 1 p. 100 ». Contrairement au processus normal d’attribution, les chaires attribuées à un établissement dans le cadre du processus spécial ne sont pas rattachées à un organisme subventionnaire, c'est-à-dire à une discipline de recherche; le choix revient à l’établissement. Les universités peuvent également changer une chaire de niveau 1 en deux chaires de niveau 2, ou vice-versa.

Nota : Certains établissements pourront se voir attribuer des chaires dans le cadre des processus à la fois normal et spécial d'attribution.

Critères d’admissibilité au processus spécial d’attribution des chaires

Pour être admissible au processus spécial d’attribution des chaires, un établissement doit répondre aux trois critères suivants :

  • Il doit avoir reçu, en moyenne, plus de 100 000 $ de financement des trois organismes subventionnaires au cours des trois derniers exercices;
  • Il doit avoir reçu 1 p. 100 ou moins du financement total alloué par les trois organismes subventionnaires;
  • Il doit s’être vu attribuer moins de 11 chaires dans le cadre du processus normal d’attribution.

Processus d'ajustement graduel

Les établissements qui se sont vu attribuer 11 chaires ou plus dans le cadre du processus normal d’attribution ne sont pas admissibles au processus spécial d’attribution. Chaque chaire attribuée à un établissement dans le cadre du processus normal d’attribution, au-delà de la huitième, diminue de un le nombre de chaires que l’établissement peut se voir attribuer dans le cadre du processus spécial d’attribution. Le processus est démontré dans le tableau suivant.

Démonstration du processus d'ajustement graduel

Chaires attribuées dans le cadre du processus normal

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

Chaires attribuées dans le cadre du processus spécial

3

3

3

3

2

1

0

0

Attribution totale

8

9

10

11

11

11

11

12

Méthode de calcul du processus spécial d’attribution des chaires

Dans le cadre du processus spécial d'attribution, la méthode consiste d'abord à mettre en commun le financement accordé par les trois organismes subventionnaires à l’ensemble des établissements admissibles au processus spécial d'attribution. Les chaires sont attribués selon la proportion du financement reçu par chacun des établissements par rapport au total du financement accordé par les trois organismes subventionnaires (c’est-à-dire le pourcentage de financement obtenu = le pourcentage de chaires attribuées).

Le niveau des chaires attribuées alterne, jusqu'à un maximum de trois chaires : la première chaire attribuée est de niveau 2, la deuxième est de niveau 1 et la troisième, de niveau 2.

Nota : Les établissements qui ont reçu moins de 200 000 $ de financement des trois organismes subventionnaires au cours des trois derniers exercices se verront attribuer une seule chaire de niveau 2.



top

Reprise des chaires perdues et mécanisme de désactivation du financement

Si le rendement d’un établissement décroît par rapport à celui d’autres établissements au point où son attribution de chaire diminue à l’issue du processus de réattribution, le secrétariat du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada reprend les chaires perdues. Après avoir consulté le secrétariat, cet établissement peut décider de rendre les chaires vacantes ou de faire appel à un mécanisme de désactivation du financement à plusieurs échelons (100, 50 et 0 p. 100) pour les chaires actives.

La durée du mécanisme de cessation du financement ainsi que celle des périodes de financement intégral (100 p. 100) et partiel (50 p. 100) peuvent varier en fonction du budget du Programme. Les chaires perdues à l’issue du processus d’attribution de 2014 sont financées à 100 p. 100 pendant six mois et à 50 p. 100 pendant les six mois suivants.

Le mécanisme de désactivation du financement faisant suite au processus de réattribution des chaires de 2014 débutera le 1er octobre 2015. Les titulaires de chaire conserveront leur titre jusqu’à la fin de leur mandat actuel.

Tels qu’énoncés ci-dessous, les outils de gestion des attributions peuvent également servir à récupérer une chaire.



top

Outils de gestion des attributions

Marge de flexibilité

Les établissements disposent d'un certain nombre de chaires dites « flexibles », dont il est possible de changer le niveau ou le domaine de recherche.

Par exemple, un établissement peut changer une chaire de niveau 1 en deux chaires de niveau 2, ou vice-versa, ou encore changer une chaire du CRSNG en chaire du CRSH, ou une chaire du CRSH en chaire des IRSC, etc. Lorsqu’une chaire est retournée à son niveau ou son domaine de recherche d’origine, tel qu’accordé au moment du calcul, la chaire « flexible » est remise à l’établissement.

Ce mécanisme peut servir lorsqu'il y a reprise de chaires perdues à l'issue du processus d'attribution. Par exemple, un établissement qui se voit reprendre une chaire du CRSNG peut décider de changer une chaire vacante du CRSH en chaire du CRSNG. Le nombre de chaires dites « flexibles » est proportionnel au nombre de chaires attribuées à chaque établissement, comme le montre le tableau suivant :

Nombre de chaires attribuées Nombre de chaires dites « flexibles »

1-50

5

51-100

10

101-150

15

151-200

20

201-250

25

251-300

30

Les établissements qui souhaitent se prévaloir de la marge de flexibilité doivent se conformer aux directives suivantes :

  1. Toute modification doit être approuvée par le Secrétariat Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada;
  2. Les établissements doivent respecter la répartition nationale des chaires (45 p. 100 des chaires pour le CRSNG, 35 p. 100 pour les IRSC et 20 p. 100 pour le CRSH) en tentant de conserver la répartition initiale des chaires qui leur ont été attribuées. Le Secrétariat du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada s’assurera que la répartition nationale des chaires varie de façon acceptable.