Requirements for recruiting and nominating Canada Research Chairs


Update September 2018: These new institutional requirements are an update to the program’s Guidelines for ensuring a fair and transparent recruitment and nomination process (implemented in 2011) and are being implemented as part of its Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan.


Before reading the requirements below, please note the following:

  • These requirements are in effect for new recruitment processes that start after September 10, 2018.
  • If a recruitment process took place prior to these requirements taking effect, an institution must submit a formal letter with its nomination outlining exactly how the process followed the previous guidelines.
  • The program will not accept a nomination if the recruitment process starts after September 10, 2018, and does not meet the requirements.
  • The program will actively monitor to ensure that these requirements are followed. In cases where the results of a monitoring exercise find a recruitment process did not follow the requirements, the program reserves the right to withdraw a nomination, suspend future payments or terminate the award of an already active chair.

All Canada Research Chair positions must be filled using the following requirements for recruitment and nomination, which are based on the principles of openness, transparency and accountability. These outline the minimum requirements that institutions must meet when filling a chair allocation. Institutions are encouraged to incorporate additional best practices within their processes.




1) Institutional accountability

  • When filling a chair allocation, institutions must consider the need to meet and sustain their current equity and diversity targets to address the underrepresentation of individuals from the four designated groups (women, persons with disabilities, Indigenous peoples and members of visible minorities) within their allocation of chairs.
  • These requirements apply to all nominations (other than renewals), whether the chair is used for internal recruitment (only open to existing faculty) or external recruitment (to attract new faculty), and in cases where an active Tier 2 chairholder is nominated to a Tier 1 Chair at the same institution. 
  • Before beginning the recruitment process, the institution must identify a senior level university official, who will be responsible for ensuring that the requirements have been followed and will attest to this by signing the program’s Institutional Attestation - Recruitment and Nomination Process Form.
  • The program will not accept nominations where the job posting and/or recruitment and nomination process do not follow the requirements.
  • The Tri-Agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS) reserves the right to ask institutions to provide, at any time within 48 months following a nomination submission, documentation that demonstrates that the requirements were followed. See examples of documentation.
  • The program will actively monitor to ensure that these requirements are followed. In cases where the results of a monitoring exercise find a recruitment process did not follow the requirements, the program reserves the right to withdraw a nomination, suspend future payments or terminate the award of an already active chair.



2) Allocating Chair positions

The institution must:

  • take into account its equity and diversity targets and gaps when allocating a Chair position to a department or faculty, when deciding which field to support with a Chair and whether to limit the pool to internal candidates; and
  • consider the potential of drawing a diverse pool of candidates when defining the targeted field of research, outlining a broader field of research is more likely to attract a more diverse pool of candidates.



3) Advertisements / job postings

The institution must:

  • publicly advertise all Chair positions on its public accountability web page for a minimum of 30 days prior to the closing of the competition (this applies to all new nominations, even those only open to existing faculty). Note that all postings must be archived and publicly available for a minimum of three years;
  • email to edi-edi@chairs-chaires.gc.ca the links to all job postings that advertise chair positions on the exact day they are posted online. The program will actively monitor all job postings to ensure that they meet the requirements outlined below;
  • in keeping with transparency, a job posting may be advertised no more than two years prior to the nomination being put forward to TIPS.

A job posting must:

  • clearly state the date on which it has been posted online;
  • clearly state that the position is for a Canada Research Chair and identify the field of research and tier level (Tier 1 or Tier 2);
  • if for a Tier 2 Chair, specifically refer to the program’s Tier 2 justification process, and not use language that is misleading nor exclusionary regarding eligibility of a Tier 2 Chair (see more information on Chair Position Postings for Tier 2 Chairs);
  • include a statement that recognizes the legitimate impact that leaves (e.g., maternity leave, leave due to illness) can have on a candidate’s record of research achievement and that these leaves will be taken into careful consideration during the assessment process;
  • encourage individuals from all four designated groups to apply;
  • include the institution’s commitment statement to equity, diversity and inclusion;
  • include a statement on the institution’s accommodation policies and provide the contact information of someone who can address requests for accommodations (e.g., to accommodate candidates with hearing impairments, mobility restrictions, etc.); and
  • use inclusive, unbiased and ungendered language focused only on the qualifications and skills necessary for the job.



4) Search for candidates

Institutions must ensure:

  • proactive efforts are made to identify a diverse pool of potential applicants, which may include:
    • ensuring that the targeted field of research is sufficiently broadly defined;
    • advertising in targeted venues (professional societies and associations of designated groups); or
    • using recruitment firms/agencies;
  • the selection criteria and assessment process are finalized prior to the process being undertaken, and are applied consistently and fairly to all candidates;
  • the search and hiring committees’ evaluation processes and decisions are carefully documented at each stage of the process;
  • that potential conflict of interest within the process is managed accordingly;
  • the institution’s equity officer (or a committee member / institutional official identified as the equity, diversity and inclusion champion) is involved and consulted at all stages of the process (from proposal development to the final selection of the candidate); and
  • self-identification data is collected from all applicants using best practices.



5) Nomination committee

A group of individuals (a committee and not a sole individual) must use a fair and objective recruitment and nomination process when making all decisions.

The recruitment and nomination committee must:

  • have some representation from underrepresented populations, including a minimum of one individual from one of the four designated groups;
  • include an equity and diversity officer (or a committee member / institutional official identified as the equity, diversity and inclusion champion);
  • have received training regarding the potential negative impacts that unconscious bias can have on assessment and decision-making processes, and on the career paths of individuals from the four designated groups;
  • be aware of the institution’s commitment and strategy for meeting (or sustaining) its equity and diversity targets and any gaps; and
  • use best practices to protect the privacy and personal information of all applicants (e.g., self-identification data, information related to leaves).



6) Nomination decision

The recruitment and nomination committee must:

  • fairly consider the impact of leaves on a potential candidate’s record when assessing research outputs;
  • consider that leaves can contribute to a career slowdown as individuals transition to being on leave and transition back to work (e.g., pregnancy can, in some cases where there may be complications, impact a woman’s productivity prior to being on official maternity leave);
  • ensure that the assessment process does not undervalue scholarship or research that is non-traditional or unconventional, based in Indigenous ways of knowing, outside the mainstream of the discipline, or focused on issues of gender, race or minority status;
  • ensure that the need for workplace accommodations does not negatively impact a candidate’s assessment;
  • review the final hiring decision (and challenge it, if necessary) to ensure that unconscious bias did not negatively impact the decision-making progress and that it is aligned with the institution’s equity, diversity and inclusion action plan; and
  • provide a written nomination committee report, signed by all committee members, to the senior university official attesting to how these requirements have been met.



7) Nomination

Prior to submitting a nomination to TIPS, the designated senior university official must review the recruitment and nomination process, the corresponding documentation, and the nomination package to ensure that:

  • the requirements have been followed;
  • the nomination is aligned with both the program’s commitment to equity and diversity and the institution’s equity, diversity and inclusion action plan; and
  • the level of institutional support (e.g., level of protected time for research, research stipend, mentoring, etc.) being provided to the individual is fair and comparable to other chairholders at the institution.

The designated senior university official must duly sign the Institutional Attestation - Recruitment and Nomination Process form, which must be included in the nomination package submitted to the program.




8) Emergency retention mechanism

Institutions may only use Canada Research Chair positions for emergency retention (i.e., where a position is offered without a competitive process to an individual to retain them within the institution) in very exceptional circumstances. The emergency retention mechanism may only be used by institutions that are meeting their equity and diversity targets for all four designated groups or in cases where the nomination contributes to meeting these targets.

In keeping with the principles of openness and transparency, institutions must publicly demonstrate the exceptional nature of these types of nominations on their public accountability and transparency web pages by posting transparency statements that include:

  • their intention to nominate an individual using the emergency retention mechanism;
  • a detailed justification explaining why the emergency retention mechanism is being used (while being careful not to disclose the nominee’s personal information);
  • confirmation that their equity and diversity targets have been taken into consideration in the decision;
  • the name and contact information of the senior level university official who has approved the decision; and
  • the name and contact information of a university representative who can respond to questions or concerns regarding the nomination.

Institutions must:

  • keep their transparency statements public for at least 30 days prior to submitting their nominations, to provide enough time for discussion at the institutional level;
  • email to edi-edi@chairs-chaires.gc.ca links to and PDFs of the statements on the same day they are posted online;
  • submit copies of the statements with their nominations; and
  • archive all statements so that they are publicly available on the institution’s public accountability and transparency web pages for a minimum of three years.



9) Renewals

To ensure openness and transparency with their current chairholders, institutions must establish clear criteria to determine whether a Chair will be nominated for renewal, and communicate these criteria to chairholders at the beginning and during their terms, as needed.

Tier 1 third-term nominations

Tier 1 Chairs cannot be renewed for a third term except in very exceptional circumstances. See Eligibility for Renewal for more information and for what is required in a transparency statement, where applicable. Institutions must:

  • email to edi-edi@chairs-chaires.gc.ca links to and PDFs of their transparency statements the same day they are posted online;
  • submit copies of the statements with their nominations; and
  • archive all statements so that they are publicly available on the institution’s public accountability and transparency web pages for a minimum of three years.



10) Monitoring of recruitment and nomination processes

TIPS will conduct regular monitoring exercises to ensure that institutions are following these requirements. Institutions may be asked to provide, at any time within the 48 months following the submission of a nomination, evidence that the process met the requirements. In cases where the results of a monitoring exercise find that the requirements have not been followed, the program reserves the right to withdraw the nomination, or suspend future payments or terminate the award of an active Chair.

The following outlines examples of documentation that the institution may be asked to provide:

  • membership details of the recruitment and nomination committee;
  • the names of senior officials responsible for ensuring the recruitment process was in line with the institution’s equity and diversity targets and the program’s requirements for an open and transparent recruitment process;
  • a description of the equity, diversity and inclusion training provided to individuals who participated in the process (including training on unconscious bias);
  • a description of the role of the equity and diversity officer or designated equity, diversity and inclusion champion;
  • a description of the strategy and proactive efforts made to identify a diverse pool of potential applicants;
  • a description of the measures used to ensure that individuals who required accommodation or who experienced career interruptions were not disadvantaged during the nomination process;
  • evaluation criteria and assessment grids;
  • copies of relevant internal policies and guidelines (e.g., equity policies, tenure-track hiring practices/policies, collective agreement or equivalent); and
  • a description of the best practices used to collect data on the participation of individuals from the four designated groups, including a copy of the self-identification form.



Questions

If you have enquiries related to these requirements or the program’s equity, diversity and inclusion practices, please contact:

Sally Booth
Senior Policy Advisor, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
613-947-9203
sally.booth@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Deputy Director, Policy, Performance, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
613-943-7989
marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Exigences relatives au recrutement et à la mise en candidature de titulaires de chaire de recherche du Canada


Mise à jour Septembre 2018 : ces nouvelles exigences auxquelles doivent satisfaire les établissements sont en fait des modifications aux Lignes directrices pour garantir l’équité et la transparence du processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature (entrées en vigueur en 2011), et leur mise en application s’inscrit dans le cadre du Plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion du Programme.

Avant de prendre connaissance des exigences ci-dessous, veuillez noter ce qui suit.

  • Ces exigences sont en vigueur pour tout nouveau processus de recrutement lancé après le 10 septembre 2018.
  • Si un processus de recrutement a été lancé avant l’entrée en vigueur de ces exigences, l’établissement doit présenter, avec la mise en candidature, une lettre en bonne et due forme dans laquelle il explique exactement en quoi le processus respecte les lignes directrices antérieures.
  • Le Programme n’acceptera pas une mise en candidature si le processus de recrutement est lancé après le 10 septembre 2018 et ne satisfait pas aux exigences.
  • Le Programme surveillera attentivement la conformité à ces exigences. Le Programme se réserve le droit de retirer la mise en candidature, de suspendre les versements à venir ou de mettre fin au financement d’un titulaire de chaire de recherche dont les activités sont déjà en cours dans les cas où la surveillance permettra d’établir que le processus de recrutement n’a pas été conforme aux exigences.

Tous les postes de titulaire de chaire de recherche du Canada doivent être dotés en conformité avec les exigences en matière de recrutement et de mise en candidature exposées ci-après, qui sont fondées sur des principes d’ouverture, de transparence et de reddition de comptes. Il s’agit des exigences minimales auxquelles les établissements doivent satisfaire lorsqu’ils procèdent à la dotation d’une chaire qui leur a été attribuée. Les établissements sont également invités à intégrer d’autres pratiques exemplaires dans leurs processus.




1) Reddition de comptes par l’établissement

  • Au moment de doter une chaire vacante, l’établissement doit tenir compte de la nécessité d’atteindre (ou de continuer d’atteindre) ses cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité pour remédier à la sous-représentation des personnes des quatre groupes désignés (soit les femmes, les personnes handicapées, les Autochtones et les personnes de minorités visibles).
  • Ces exigences s’appliquent à toutes les mises en candidature (exception faite des renouvellements de mandat), que ce soit dans le cadre d’un recrutement à l’interne (destiné uniquement aux membres du corps professoral) ou à l’extérieur (pour attirer de nouveaux membres au sein du corps professoral), et aux cas où la candidature d’un titulaire de chaire de niveau 2 est proposée pour doter une chaire de niveau 1 dans le même établissement.
  • Avant de lancer le processus de recrutement, l’établissement doit désigner un représentant de haut rang qui sera chargé de veiller à ce que les exigences soient respectées et qui le confirmera en signant le formulaire Attestation de l’établissement – Processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature.
  • Le Programme n’acceptera pas les mises en candidature pour lesquelles l’annonce du poste et (ou) le processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature n’auront pas été conformes aux exigences.
  • Le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements (le Secrétariat) se réserve le droit de demander à un établissement de fournir, à tout moment dans les 48 mois suivant la présentation d’une mise en candidature, les documents attestant que les exigences ont été respectées. Exemples de documents demandés
  • Le Programme surveillera attentivement la conformité à ces exigences. Le Programme se réserve le droit de retirer la mise en candidature, de suspendre les versements à venir ou de mettre fin au financement d’un titulaire de chaire de recherche dont les activités sont déjà en cours dans les cas où la surveillance permettra d’établir que le processus de recrutement n’a pas été conforme aux exigences.



2) Attribution de postes de titulaire de chaire

L’établissement doit :

  • tenir compte de ses cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité et des lacunes à combler quand il attribue un poste de titulaire de chaire à un département ou à une faculté, décide du champ de recherche à soutenir au moyen d’une chaire et choisit de s’en tenir à un bassin de candidats internes;
  • envisager la possibilité de constituer un bassin de candidats diversifié quand il définit le champ de recherche visé, puisqu’en définissant un champ de recherche plus vaste, il est plus susceptible d’attirer un bassin de candidats diversifié.



3) Annonces et affichages de postes

L’établissement doit :

  • annoncer publiquement tout poste de chaire sur sa page Web de reddition de comptes à la population pendant une période d’au moins 30 jours précédant la clôture du concours (ceci s’applique à toutes les nouvelles mises en candidature, même celles qui sont destinées uniquement aux membres du corps professoral). Prière de noter que tous les affichages doivent être archivés et que le public doit y avoir accès pendant une période d’au moins trois ans;
  • envoyer par courriel à edi-edi@chairs-chaires.gc.ca les liens vers tous les affichages de postes de titulaire de chaire, et ce, le jour même de l’affichage en ligne. Le Programme surveillera attentivement tous les affichages de postes afin de s’assurer qu’ils respectent les exigences mentionnées ci-dessous;
  • s’abstenir d’annoncer un poste plus de deux ans avant de présenter la mise en candidature au Secrétariat, et ce, à des fins de transparence.

L’annonce du poste doit :

  • mentionner clairement la date de l’affichage en ligne;
  • indiquer clairement que le poste a trait à une chaire de recherche du Canada et préciser le champ de recherche et le niveau de la chaire (1 ou 2);
  • mentionner expressément le processus de justification de la chaire de niveau 2 s’il s’agit d’un poste de chaire de niveau 2 et ne pas utiliser de formulation trompeuse ou restrictive concernant l’admissibilité à une chaire de niveau 2 (pour plus de précisions, voir la rubrique Affichage des postes de titulaire de chaire pour les chaires de niveau 2);
  • inclure un énoncé qui reconnaît l’incidence légitime que les congés (par exemple les congés de maternité ou les congés de maladie) peuvent avoir sur le dossier de réalisations en recherche d’un candidat, énoncé précisant qu’il sera dûment tenu compte de ces congés au cours du processus d’évaluation;
  • inviter les personnes faisant partie des quatre groupes désignés à présenter leur candidature;
  • inclure l’énoncé portant sur l’engagement de l’établissement relativement au respect de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion;
  • inclure un énoncé de l’établissement sur les mesures d’adaptation qu’il offre et fournir les coordonnées d’une personne pouvant répondre aux demandes de mesures d’adaptation (p. ex. pour répondre aux besoins de candidats ayant une déficience auditive, dont la mobilité est restreinte, etc.);
  • utiliser une écriture inclusive, impartiale et non genrée et mettre l’accent uniquement sur les qualifications et les compétences nécessaires pour le poste.



4) Recherche de candidats

L’établissement doit veiller à ce que :

  • des efforts proactifs soient déployés pour constituer un bassin de candidats possibles diversifié, notamment en
    • s’assurant que le champ de recherche en cause est suffisamment bien défini dans ses grandes lignes;
    • choisissant avec soin la façon de transmettre les annonces (par les associations professionnelles et les associations regroupant les personnes faisant partie des groupes désignés);
    • faisant appel à des firmes ou agences de recrutement;
  • les critères de sélection et le processus d’évaluation aient été établis de façon définitive avant que le processus de recrutement soit lancé et qu’ils soient appliqués de façon uniforme et équitable à tous les candidats;
  • les processus d’évaluation et les décisions des comités de recrutement et d’embauche soient soigneusement documentés à toutes les étapes;
  • les conflits d’intérêts potentiels dans le cadre du processus soient gérés en conséquence;
  • l’agent en matière d’équité de l’établissement (ou un membre du comité ou le responsable désigné à titre de champion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion au sein de l’établissement) participe au processus et soit consulté à toutes les étapes (de l’élaboration de la proposition à la sélection finale du candidat);
  • les données des déclarations volontaires soient recueillies auprès de tous les candidats en ayant recours à des pratiques exemplaires.



5) Comité de mise en candidature

Dans toutes les décisions qu’il prend, le comité (un groupe de personnes et non une seule personne) doit suivre un processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature équitable et objectif.

Le comité de recrutement et de mise en candidature doit :

  • être représentatif des groupes sous-représentés et comporter au moins une personne de l’un des quatre groupes désignés;
  • comprendre un agent en matière d’équité et de diversité (ou un membre du comité ou le responsable désigné à titre de champion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion au sein de l’établissement);
  • avoir reçu une formation sur les répercussions négatives possibles que les préjugés involontaires peuvent avoir sur les processus d’évaluation et de prise de décision et sur les cheminements de carrière des personnes faisant partie des quatre groupes désignés;
  • être conscient de l’engagement pris par l’établissement à l’égard de l’équité et de la diversité et de la stratégie qu’il a adoptée pour atteindre (ou continuer d’atteindre) ses cibles en la matière et pour remédier à toute lacune;
  • adopter des pratiques exemplaires pour protéger la vie privée et les renseignements personnels de tous les candidats (les données des déclarations volontaires et les renseignements relatifs aux congés, entre autres).



6) Décision de mise en candidature

Le comité de recrutement et de mise en candidature doit :

  • prendre en compte de façon équitable l’incidence des congés sur le dossier de réalisations en recherche d’un candidat potentiel au moment d’évaluer les produits de la recherche;
  • prendre en compte le fait que les congés peuvent ralentir la progression professionnelle au moment de la transition au congé, puis à la reprise du travail (par exemple, une grossesse peut, s’il y a des complications, compromettre la productivité d’une chercheure avant que celle-ci soit officiellement en congé de maternité);
  • veiller à ce que le processus d’évaluation ne sous-estime pas les travaux d’érudition ou de recherche non classiques ou atypiques, fondés sur des modes de connaissances autochtones, sortant des sentiers battus d’une discipline ou mettant l’accent sur les questions ayant trait au genre, à la race ou au statut de minorité;
  • s’assurer que la nécessité de mettre en place des mesures d’adaptation en milieu de travail n’a pas d’incidence négative sur l’évaluation du candidat;
  • revoir la décision de sélection finale (et la remettre en question, au besoin) pour s’assurer que des préjugés involontaires n’ont pas eu une incidence négative sur le processus de prise de décision et que la décision cadre avec le plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion de l’établissement;
  • fournir au représentant de haut rang de l’établissement le rapport écrit du comité de mise en candidature, signé par tous les membres du comité et indiquant comment ces exigences ont été remplies.



7) Mise en candidature

Avant de présenter une candidature au Secrétariat, le représentant de haut rang désigné par l’établissement doit examiner le processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature, les documents qui s’y rapportent et le dossier de mise en candidature afin de s’assurer de ce qui suit :

  • les exigences ont été respectées;
  • la mise en candidature est conforme à l’engagement du Programme à l’égard de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion et conforme au plan d’action en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion de l’établissement;
  • le niveau de soutien (p. ex. le temps réservé aux activités de recherche, l’allocation de recherche, le mentorat, etc.) offert par l’établissement à la personne est équitable et comparable à celui offert aux autres titulaires de chaire de l’établissement.

Le représentant de haut rang désigné par l’établissement doit dûment signer le formulaire Attestation de l’établissement – Processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature, qui doit être joint au dossier de mise en candidature présenté au Programme.




8) Mécanisme de maintien en poste d’urgence

C’est uniquement dans des circonstances très exceptionnelles qu’un établissement devrait avoir recours à un poste de chaire de recherche du Canada pour le maintien en poste d’urgence (c.-à-d. pour offrir un poste sans qu’il y ait concours à une personne afin de la garder au sein de l’établissement). Le mécanisme de maintien en poste d’urgence ne peut être utilisé que par des établissements qui atteignent leurs cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité dans les quatre groupes désignés ou dans les cas où la mise en candidature de la personne contribue à l’atteinte de ces cibles.

Conformément aux principes d’ouverture et de transparence, l’établissement doit démontrer publiquement le caractère exceptionnel de ce type de mise en candidature sur ses pages Web consacrées à la reddition de comptes à la population et à la transparence en y affichant un énoncé ayant trait à la transparence qui comprend :

  • l’annonce de son intention de proposer la candidature d’une personne en ayant recours au mécanisme de maintien en poste d’urgence;
  • une justification détaillée afin d’expliquer les raisons du recours au mécanisme de maintien en poste d’urgence (tout en veillant à ne pas divulguer les renseignements personnels du candidat);
  • la confirmation que ses cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité ont été prises en compte pour arriver à la décision;
  • le nom et les coordonnées du représentant de haut rang de l’établissement qui a approuvé la décision;
  • le nom et les coordonnées d’un représentant de l’établissement qui peut répondre aux questions ou aux préoccupations soulevées par la mise en candidature.

L’établissement doit :

  • veiller à ce que tout énoncé ayant trait à la transparence soit affiché sur son site public pendant une période d’au moins 30 jours précédant la présentation de la mise en candidature, afin qu’il y ait suffisamment de temps pour en discuter à l’échelon de l’établissement;
  • envoyer par courriel à edi-edi@chairs-chaires.gc.ca le lien vers la version en ligne de l’énoncé et joindre la version PDF, et ce, le jour même de l’affichage en ligne;
  • joindre un exemplaire de l’énoncé au dossier de mise en candidature;
  • archiver tous les énoncés ayant trait à la transparence afin qu’ils puissent être consultables sur le site Web public, dans les pages que l’établissement consacre à la reddition de comptes à la population et à la transparence, pendant une période d’au moins trois ans.



9) Renouvellement du mandat d’un titulaire de chaire

Dans un souci d’ouverture et de transparence à l’égard de ses titulaires de chaire actuels, l’établissement doit établir des critères clairs afin de déterminer s’il demandera le renouvellement du mandat d’un titulaire de chaire donné et doit communiquer ces critères au titulaire de chaire au début et au cours de son mandat.

Nomination pour un troisième mandat d’un titulaire de chaire de niveau 1

Le titulaire d’une chaire de niveau 1 ne peut être nommé pour un troisième mandat, sauf dans des circonstances très exceptionnelles. Voir la rubrique Admissibilité au renouvellement pour plus de précisions et pour savoir ce sur quoi doit porter l’énoncé ayant trait à la transparence, le cas échéant. L’établissement doit :

  • envoyer par courriel à edi-edi@chairs-chaires.gc.ca le lien vers la version en ligne de l’énoncé et joindre la version PDF, et ce, le jour même de l’affichage en ligne;
  • joindre un exemplaire de l’énoncé au dossier de mise en candidature;
  • archiver tous les énoncés ayant trait à la transparence afin qu’ils puissent être consultables sur le site Web public, dans les pages que l’établissement consacre à la reddition de comptes à la population et à la transparence, pendant une période d’au moins trois ans.



10) Surveillance du processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature

Le Secrétariat vérifiera régulièrement si les établissements respectent les exigences. Les établissements peuvent être invités à fournir, à tout moment dans les 48 mois suivant la présentation d’une candidature, la preuve que le processus a satisfait aux exigences. Le Programme se réserve le droit de retirer la mise en candidature, de suspendre les versements à venir ou de mettre fin au financement d’un titulaire de chaire de recherche dont les activités sont déjà en cours dans les cas où la surveillance permettra d’établir que le processus de recrutement n’a pas été conforme aux exigences.

Voici des exemples de documents que l’établissement pourrait être appelé à fournir :

  • des renseignements sur les membres du comité de recrutement et de mise en candidature;
  • le nom du représentant de haut rang de l’établissement chargé de s’assurer que le processus de recrutement a respecté les cibles en matière d’équité et de diversité de l’établissement et a satisfait aux exigences du Programme en ce qui a trait au processus de recrutement ouvert et transparent;
  • la description de la formation en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion offerte aux personnes qui ont participé au processus (y compris une formation sur les préjugés involontaires);
  • la description du rôle de l’agent en matière d’équité et de diversité ou du responsable désigné à titre de champion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion;
  • la description des efforts proactifs déployés pour constituer un bassin de candidats possibles diversifié et de la stratégie adoptée à cet égard;
  • la description des moyens utilisés pour s’assurer que les personnes qui ont besoin de mesures d’adaptation ou qui ont connu une interruption dans leur carrière n’ont pas été désavantagées au cours du processus de mise en candidature;
  • les critères et les grilles d’évaluation utilisés;
  • un exemplaire des lignes directrices et des politiques internes (p. ex. les politiques en matière d’équité, les politiques ou pratiques de recrutement pour les postes menant à la permanence, les conventions collectives ou autres documents équivalents);
  • la description des pratiques exemplaires utilisées pour recueillir des données sur la participation des personnes faisant partie des quatre groupes désignés, y compris un exemplaire du formulaire de déclaration volontaire.



Questions

Pour toute question concernant ces exigences ou les pratiques du Programme en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, veuillez communiquer avec

Sally Booth
Conseillère principale en matière de politiques, Équité, diversité et inclusion
613-947-9203
sally.booth@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Marie-Lynne Boudreau
Directrice, Politiques, rendement, équité et diversité
613-943-7989
marie-lynne.boudreau@chairs-chaires.gc.ca